(4) a statewide TBI action plan to provide a culturally competent, comprehensive, community-based system of care that encompasses physical, psychological, educational, vocational, and social aspects of TBI services and addresses the needs of individuals with TBI, as well as family members.

Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Center (DVBIC):

A partnership of the Department of Defense, the Department of Veterans Affairs health care system, and a civilian partner that includes seven clinical care and surgery sites and conducts clinical research on brain injury. When founded in 1992, it was known as the Defense and Veterans Brain Injury Program.

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA):

A federal agency, within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Resources, that is charged with providing access to health care for the medically underserved. HRSA operates five bureaus including the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Bureau of Primary Health Care, Bureau of Health Professions, Healthcare Systems Bureau, and HIV/AIDS Bureau, as well as 11 special offices. HRSA’s Maternal and Child Health Bureau administers the HRSA TBI Program.

HRSA TBI Program:

A federal grant program administered by HRSA’s Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The HRSA TBI Program includes two state-based grant programs intended to improve access to health care and other services for individuals with TBI and their families: (1) the TBI State Grants Program, and (2) the Protection and Advocacy for TBI (PATBI) Program (see below).

Implementation Grants:

One of three types of state grants that have been awarded to states, territories, and the District of Columbia under the HRSA TBI State Grants Program. Implementation Grants funded various TBI program implementation activities, including the implementation of a state’s TBI action plan, programs to address identified needs of TBI survivors and their families, and initiatives to improve access to services for TBI survivors and their families.

Medicaid head and spinal cord (HASC) injury waiver:

A type of Medicaid home and community-based services waiver to provide services to individuals with TBI, spinal cord injury, or a similar disability.

Medicaid home and community-based services (HCBS) waiver:

A Medicaid waiver that allows a state to waive Medicaid provisions in order to allow long-term care services to be delivered in community settings; it is the Medicaid alternative to providing comprehensive long-term services in institutional settings. This allows a state to provide additional services to Medicaid beneficiaries with TBI (e.g., case management, respite care, life-skills training) through a waiver program.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement