Sally L. Dawson, Vice-chair

Dr. Dawson is chair of the Physics Department at Brookhaven National Laboratory and an adjunct professor at the Institute for Theoretical Physics at SUNY at Stony Brook. She received her Ph.D. from Harvard University in 1981 under Howard M. Georgi. Dr. Dawson was recently chair of the American Physical Society’s Division of Particle and Fields, the primary professional society for elementary particle physics, a position to which she was elected by her peers. Her primary scientific expertise is in the area of theoretical high-energy physics, specializing in studies of the Higgs boson, electroweak symmetry breaking, and physics beyond the Standard Model. She is a fellow of the American Physical Society and was awarded the Woman of the Year in Science by the Town of Brookhaven in 1995. Her committee service includes the High Energy Physics Advisory Panel of the Department of Energy and the National Science Foundation, the American Physical Society Committee on the Status of Women in Physics, and the International Committee on the Future of Accelerators.

Norman R. Augustine

Mr. Augustine retired in 1997 as chair and chief executive officer of Lockheed Martin Corporation. Previously he served as chair and CEO of the Martin Marietta Corporation. Upon retiring he joined the faculty of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at Princeton University. Earlier in his career he had served as under secretary of the Army and before that as assistant director of Defense Research and Engineering. Mr. Augustine served 9 years as chairman of the American Red Cross. He has also been president of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and served as chairman of the Henry M. “Scoop” Jackson Foundation for Military Medicine. He has served as a trustee of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Johns Hopkins University, and Princeton University. He serves on the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology and is a former chairman of the Defense Science Board. He currently serves on the corporate boards of Black and Decker, Procter and Gamble, and ConocoPhillips. He has been presented the National Medal of Technology and the Department of Defense’s highest civilian award, the Distinguished Service Medal, five times; in 2006, he was awarded the National Academy of Sciences’ Public Welfare Medal. Mr. Augustine holds an M.S. in aeronautical engineering from Princeton University. He has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering; he served as chairman of the National Academy of Engineering for 2 years.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement