HCFA Health Care Financing Administration

HLA human leukocyte antigen

HRSA Health Resources and Services Administration

ICU intensive care unit

IHI Institute for Healthcare Improvement

IOM Institute of Medicine

JCAHO Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations

MELD Model for End-Stage Liver Disease

MOTTEP Minority Organ and Tissue Transplant Education Program

NATCO Organization for Transplant Professionals

NCCUSL National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws

NCHS National Center for Health Statistics

NCQA National Committee for Quality Assurance

NCSL National Conference of State Legislatures

NDD neurologic determination of death

NHBD non-heart-beating organ donation

NIDDK National Institute of Diabetes & Digestive & Kidney Diseases

NIH National Institutes of Health

NKF National Kidney Foundation

NOTA National Organ Transplant Act

OPO organ procurement organization

OPTN Organ Procurement and Transplantation Network

PHASE Pre-Hospital Arrest Survival Evaluation

SCCM Society of Critical Care Medicine

SRTR Scientific Registry of Transplant Recipients

UAGA Uniform Anatomical Gift Act

UDDA Uniform Determination of Death Act

UNOS United Network for Organ Sharing

WHC Washington Hospital Center

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement