RADFORD BYERLY, JR., is a research scientist at the Center for Science and Technology Policy Research, University of Colorado. He formerly worked at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (then the National Bureau of Standards), served as chief of staff of the U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Science and Technology, and was director of the University of Colorado’s Center for Space and Geosciences Policy. He is a member of the NRC Space Studies Board.

JUDITH A. CURRY is chair of the School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences at the Georgia Institute of Technology. Her research interests include remote sensing, climate of the polar-regions, atmospheric modeling, and air/sea interactions. She participates in the World Meteorological Organization’s World Climate Research Program and chairs the Global Energy and Water Cycle Experiment (GEWEX) Cloud System Studies Working Group on Polar Clouds. She currently serves on the NRC Space Studies Board.

JACK D. FARMER is a professor in the Department of Geological Sciences at Arizona State University. He previously worked as a research scientist at the NASA Ames Research Center and was a member of NASA’s 2003 Mars Pathfinder Landing Site Steering Committee. His research covers microbial biosedimentology and paleontology, early biosphere evolution, and astrobiology. He currently serves on the NRC Space Studies Board.

JACQUELINE N. HEWITT, professor of physics, is the director of MIT’s Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research. She has held positions at MIT’s Haystack Observatory and at Princeton University. Hewitt is a former member of the NRC Committee on Astronomy and Astrophysics (1997-2000), the Task Group for Space Astronomy and Astrophysics’ Panel on Galaxies and Stellar Systems (1996-1997), and the Panel on Radio and Submillimeter-wave Astronomy (1998-2001). She is a member of the Space Studies Board.

DONALD E. INGBER is the Judah Folkman Professor of Vascular Biology in the departments of Pathology and Surgery at Harvard Medical School and Children’s Hospital Boston. He is also a member of the Children’s Hospital Vascular Biology Program, Harvard Materials Research Science and Engineering Center, Harvard-MIT Health Science and Technology Division, Harvard-Dana Farber Cancer Center, and MIT Center for Bioengineering. He also helped found two biotechnology start-ups and has consulted for pharmaceutical, biotechnology, venture capital, and private investment companies. He is a member of the NRC Space Studies Board.

BRUCE M. JAKOSKY is a professor of geology and associate director for science at the University of Colorado’s (UC) Laboratory for Atmospheric and Space Physics. He is also the director of UC’s Center for Astrobiology. He began his Mars research working on the Viking mission to Mars in 1975, and he has been involved with a number of spacecraft missions, including Clementine, Mars Observer, Mars Global Surveyor, and the Mars Surveyor 2001 Orbiter.

KLAUS KEIL is the interim dean for the School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology at the University of Hawaii. He has served in the past as director of the Hawaii Institute of Geophysics and Planetology, as a professor in and as chair of the Department of Geology at the University of New Mexico (UNM), as director of the UNM Institute of Meteoritics, and as a researcher at the NASA Ames Research Center. He is a member of the NRC Space Studies Board.

DEBRA S. KNOPMAN is vice president and director of the RAND Corporation Infrastructure, Safety and Environment (ISE) Division. She is an expert in issues on energy, the environment, water resources, and public administration. She was previously the director of the Center for Innovation and the Environment at the Progressive Policy Institute, the Deputy Assistant Secretary for Water and Science at

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement