served on the NRC Committee on Space Astronomy and Astrophysics (1981-1984) and the Committee on the Physics of the Universe (2001-2002).

J. CRAIG WHEELER is the Samuel T. and Fern Yanagisawa Regents Professor of Astronomy at the University of Texas, Austin, and past chair of the department. His research interests cover supernovas, black holes, and astrobiology. He has published more than 200 scientific papers, an astronomy text, and a novel and has edited five books. He is a member of the Space Studies Board and served as the co-chair of the NRC Committee on the Origin and Evolution of Life (2002-2005). He is president-elect of the American Astronomical Society.

A. THOMAS YOUNG is a retired executive vice president of Lockheed Martin Corp. Mr. Young previously was president and COO of Martin Marietta Corp. Prior to joining industry, Mr. Young worked for 21 years at NASA, where he directed the Goddard Space Flight Center, was deputy director of the Ames Research Center, and directed the Planetary Program in the Office of Space Science at NASA headquarters. Mr. Young received high acclaim for his technical leadership in organizing and directing national space and defense programs, especially the Viking program. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. Mr. Young currently serves on the NRC Space Studies Board.


JOSEPH K. ALEXANDER, study director, served previously as director of the Space Studies Board (1998-2005), deputy assistant administrator for science in EPA’s Office of Research and Development (1994-1998), associate director of space sciences at the NASA Goddard Space Flight Center (1993-1994), and assistant associate administrator for space sciences and applications in the NASA Office of Space Science and Applications (1987-1993). Other positions have included deputy NASA chief scientist and senior policy analyst at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

DWAYNE A. DAY, Space Studies Board research associate, has served as a study director for an SSB study on the hazards of radiation to human space explorers and has supported several other NRC studies on the NASA workforce, science portfolio, and International Space Station. He has previously worked as an investigator for the Columbia Accident Investigation Board. Prior to that, he worked for the Congressional Budget Office and at George Washington University’s Space Policy Institute.

CLAUDETTE K. BAYLOR-FLEMING, administrative assistant, has been with the Space Studies Board since 1998, working primarily as the program assistant to the director. Ms. Baylor-Fleming came to the NRC in 1988, working first as a senior secretary for the Institute of Medicine’s Division of Health Sciences Policy, and then for the NRC’s Board on Global Change, where she spent 7 years as the administrative/financial assistant. In 2003, Ms. Baylor-Fleming completed two certificate programs, one at the Catholic University of America in Web technologies, and the other at Trinity College Washington in information technology applications.

CATHERINE A. GRUBER is an assistant editor with the Space Studies Board. She joined SSB as a senior program assistant in 1995. Ms. Gruber first came to the NRC in 1988 as a senior secretary for the Computer Science and Telecommunications Board and has also worked as an outreach assistant for the National Academy of Sciences–Smithsonian Institution’s National Science Resources Center. She was a research assistant (chemist) in the National Institute of Mental Health’s Laboratory of Cell Biology for 2 years. She has a B.A. in natural science from St. Mary’s College of Maryland.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement