Committee Biographical Information

Lawrence T. Papay (NAE), Chair, is currently a consultant with a variety of clients in electric power and other energy areas. Previously he held positions including senior vice president for the Integrated Solutions Sector, Science Applications International Corporation, and senior vice president and general manager of Bechtel Technology and Consulting. He also held several positions at Southern California Edison, including senior vice president, vice president, general superintendent, and director of research and development (R&D), with responsibilities for areas including bulk power generation, system planning, nuclear power, environmental operations, and development of the organization and plans for the company’s R&D efforts. Dr. Papay’s professional affiliations have included the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) Research Advisory Committee, the Atomic Industrial Forum, the U.S. Department of Energy’s Energy Research Advisory Board, and the Renewable Energy Institute. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the National Science Foundation’s Industrial Panel on Science and Technology. His expertise and knowledge range across a wide variety of electric system technologies, from production, to transmission and distribution, utility management and systems, and end-use technologies. He received a B.S. degree in physics from Fordham University, and S.M. and Sc.D. degrees in nuclear engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

Dan E. Arvizu is the director and chief executive of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory. He was formerly a senior vice president and chief technology officer for the Federal and Industrial Client Groups of CH2M Hill Companies, Ltd., and before that, a vice president and director of the Energy and Industrial Systems Business Group. Prior to working at CH2M Hill, Dr. Arvizu worked at Sandia National Laboratories—as director, Materials and Process Sciences Center; director, Advanced Energy Technology and Policy Center; and director, Technology Transfer Center. Dr. Arvizu was also a member of the technical staff, Customer Switching Systems, Bell Telephone Laboratories. He has experience as an executive in managing a business profit and loss, and in corporate technology commercialization as well as extensive experience in materials science applications for nuclear weapons and energy systems, and in the development of renewable energy systems, including solar thermal, photovoltaic, and concentrating solar collectors. He has been recognized for excellence in the management of technology transfer and renewable energy R&D programs. In 2004, Dr. Arvizu was appointed by President Bush to serve on the National Science Board. He received the 1996 Hispanic Engineer’s National Achievement Award for Executive Excellence and has served on a number of advisory groups, including the Commercialization Advisory Board for the Solar II Central Receiver Pilot Plant. He served on the National Research Council (NRC) Committee on Programmatic Review of the Office of Power Technologies. He received his B.S. degree from New Mexico State University and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Stanford University, all in mechanical engineering.

Jan Beyea is chief scientist, Consulting in the Public Interest, and is a consultant to the National Audubon Society. He consults on nuclear physics and other energy/environmental topics for numerous local, national, and international organizations. He has been chief scientist and vice president, National Audubon Society, and has held positions at the Center for Energy and Environmental Studies, Princeton University, Holy Cross College, and Columbia University. He has served as a member of numerous advisory committees and panels including the National Research Council (NRC) Board on Energy and Environmental Systems; the NRC Energy Engineering Board; the NRC Committee on Alternative Energy R&D Strategies; the NRC Committee to Review DOE’s Fine Particulates Research Plan; the Secretary of Energy’s Advisory Board, Task Force on Economic Modeling; and the policy committee of the Recycling Advisory Council. Dr. Beyea has been an advisor to various stud-

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement