Click for next page ( 179

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 178
Appendix B Participants List* Jeffrey Alexander Bill Belt Washington CORE Telecommunications Industry Association Caterina Au George Mason University Richard Bissell The National Academies Phil Auerswald George Mason University Craig Burkhardt Department of Commerce Stephanie Baroni SETECS Dave Byrne Federal Reserve Board Eugenie Barton Federal Communications Commission Kenneth Carter Federal Communications Commission Kim Bayard Federal Reserve Board Lynn Chapman George Mason University *Speakers in italics. 178

OCR for page 178
APPENDIX B 179 Barbara Cherry Jeffrey Fillar Federal Communications Commission National Communications System McAlister Clabaugh Kevin Finneran The National Academies The National Academies Denise Coca Kenneth Flamm Federal Communications Commission University of Texas at Austin Eileen Collins Barbara Fraumeni Rutgers Center for Women and Work Department of Commerce Carol Corrado John Gardenier Federal Reserve Board Turkan Gardenier Mark Crawford Pragmatica Department of Commerce Robin Gaster Santanu Das North Atlantic Research Office of Naval Research Behzad Ghaffari Cynthia de Lorenzi Federal Communications Commission PatriotNet Peter Gottstein David Dierksheide Embassy of Germany The National Academies Miguel Green Kyle Dixon George Mason University Progress and Freedom Foundation Henry Heilbrunn Mark E. Doms Interactive Directions Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco Miriam Heller Tom Donahue National Science Foundation Jesus Dumagan Jay Hellman Department of Commerce Robert Hershey Wendy Dunn Federal Reserve Board Michael Holdway Department of Labor Charles H. Ferguson The Brookings Institution

OCR for page 178
180 THE TELECOMMUNICATIONS CHALLENGE Lisa A. Hook Alfred Lee AOL Broadband (retired) Department of Commerce John Horrigan Richard Lempert Pew Internet Project National Science Foundation Richard Hovey Tom Lenard Federal Communications Commission Progress and Freedom Foundation Tim Hughes Paul Lengermann House Science Committee Federal Reserve Board Dan Hurley Nanette Levinson Department of Commerce American University David S. Isenberg David Lippke HighSpeed America Ken Jacobson Nancy Lutz National Academies National Science Foundation Jeffrey M. Jaffe Neil MacDonald Lucent Technologies Federal Technology Watch Dale W. Jorgenson Sira Maliphol Harvard University Embassy of the United Kingdom Magnus Karlsson Louis Mamakos Embassy of Sweden Vonage Derek Khlopin Goran Marklund Telecommunications Industry VINNOVA Association Hugh McElrath Jean-Phillipe Lagrange Office of Naval Intelligence Embassy of France Pamela Megna Mike LaJoie Federal Communications Commission Time Warner Cable Bart Meroney Emmanuel Le Perru Department of Commerce Embassy of France

OCR for page 178
APPENDIX B 181 Stephen J. Metalitz Stan Riveles Smith & Metalitz State Department Clark Misul Dorothy Robyn DETECON The Brattle Group Sabrina Montes Andrew Schuon Department of Commerce International Music Feed Cherry A. Murray Sujai Shivakumar Lucent Technologies The National Academies Nathan Musick Robert Sienkiewicz Congressional Budget Office National Institute of Standards and Technology Mark B. Myers The Wharton School Meredith Singer University of Pennsylvania Telecommunications Industry Association Michael R. Nelson International Business Machines Christina Siroskey George Washington University Kent Nilsson Federal Communications Commission Jim Snider New America Foundation Sue Okubo Department of Commerce Anna Snow European Commission Luciano Parodi Embassy of Chile Thomas Spavins Federal Communications Commission David Peyton National Association of Manufacturers Francessca Spencer Oracle Peter Pitsch Intel Corporation Kenneth Spratt Embassy of Ireland Lorenzo Pupillo The World Bank Diane Steinour Department of Commerce William J. Raduchel Ruckus Network

OCR for page 178
182 THE TELECOMMUNICATIONS CHALLENGE David Su David Wasshausen National Institute of Standards and Department of Commerce Technology Joseph Watson Peter A. Tenhula Department of Commerce Federal Communications Commission Philip Webre H. Brian Thompson Congressional Budget Office iTown Communications Mark A. Wegleitner Hannele Tikkanen Verizon Embassy of Finland Josh Weiner Richard Van Atta Ruckus Network Institute for Defense Analyses Charles W. Wessner Venu Veeravalli The National Academies National Science Foundation John Wohlstetter Discovery Institute