Praxis Specialty Area Test: Technology Education



Educational Testing Service (ETS)


Teacher licensing

What is measured

Pedagogical practices and knowledge in four areas of technology

Target population

College education majors who wish to teach technology education at the middle or high school level

Item format

Multiple choice

Sample size


Frequency of administration




ETS offers a series of three tests, administered by the Praxis Service, to assess beginning teachers. Praxis I measures basic academic skills of students entering teacher-education programs. Praxis II tests mastery of particular subjects and is designed primarily to assist in licensing teachers. Praxis III assesses the classroom performance of first-year teachers and is also used in licensing decisions.

Of more than 100 Praxis II tests, the only one focused on technology education is designed for prospective technology education teachers at the middle and high school levels. In recent years, ETS has modified the test to bring it into alignment with the ITEA Standards for Technological Literacy. The test has 120 multiple-choice questions divided into five categories: pedagogical and professional studies, information and communication technologies, construction technologies, manufacturing technologies, and energy/power/transportation technologies. The

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement