DOE: U.S. Department of Energy

EIA: U.S. Energy Information Administration

EPA: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, the agency that implements the Clean Air Act.

ERP: equipment replacement provision

ESP: electrostatic precipitator

FCCU: fluid catalytic cracking unit

FGD: flue-gas desulfurization

Greenfield: refers to an emission source that is part of a newly constructed facility at a site where no facility had previously existed

GW: gigawatts

HAP: hazardous air pollutant

HNO3: nitric acid

HRSG: heat recovery steam generator

H2S: hydrogen sulfide

IECM: integrated environmental control model

IGCC: integrated gasification combined cycle

IPM: Integrated Planning Model

LAER: lowest achievable emission rate (This is the level of control required to obtain a Part D NSR permit.)

LCA: life-cycle assessment

LNB: low-NOx burners

MACT: maximum available control technology

MW: megawatts

NAAQS: National Ambient Air Quality Standards (Many of the mechanisms of the Clean Air Act are aimed at attaining and maintaining compliance with these standards.)

NaOH: sodium hydroxide

Na2S: sodium sulfide

NEI: National Emissions Inventory

NEMS: National Energy Modeling System

NERC: National American Electric Reliability Council

NESHAP: National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants

NH3: ammonia

N2O: nitrous oxide

N2O4: dinitrogen tetroxide

N2O5: dinitrogen pentoxide

NO: nitric oxide

NO2: nitrogen dioxide

NO3: nitrogen trioxide

NOx: nitrogen oxides

NOy: sum of NOx and other oxidized compounds

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement