Calvin W. Lowe, Bowie State University

Harry Y. McSween, Jr.,* University of Tennessee

Berrien Moore III, University of New Hampshire

Norman P. Neureiter, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Suzanne Oparil, University of Alabama, Birmingham

Ronald F. Probstein, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Dennis W. Readey, Colorado School of Mines

Anna-Louise Reysenbach,* Portland State University

Roald Z. Sagdeev,* University of Maryland, College Park

Carolus J. Schrijver,* Lockheed Martin Solar and Astrophysics Laboratory

Harvey D. Tananbaum, Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory

Richard H. Truly, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

J. Craig Wheeler, University of Texas, Austin

A. Thomas Young, Lockheed Martin Corporation (retired)

Gary P. Zank, University of California, Riverside

SSB Ex Officio and Liaison Members

Raymond S. Colladay, Lockheed Martin Astronautics (retired) (Chair, Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board )

William W. Hoover,* U.S. Air Force (retired) (Chair, Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board )

Frank E. Muller-Karger, University of South Florida (liaison from the Ocean Studies Board)

Edward C. Stone, California Institute of Technology (U.S. representative to COSPAR)

Gerhard Haerendel, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik (liaison, chair of the European Space Science Committee)

SSB Staff

Joseph K. Alexander, Director (through October)

Tamara L. Dickinson, Associate Director (March-October), Acting Director (from November)

Betty C. Guyot, Administrative Officer (through April)

Barbara S. Akinwole, Information Management Associate

Tanja Pilzak, Administrative Coordinator (from December)

Vern Menkir, Financial Associate (through January)

Christina O. Shipman, Financial Associate

Arthur A. Charo, Senior Program Officer

Sandra J. Graham, Senior Program Officer

Robert L. Riemer, Senior Program Officer**

David H. Smith, Senior Program Officer

Pamela L. Whitney, Senior Program Officer

Brian D. Dewhurst, Senior Program Associate**

Dwayne A. Day, Research Associate (from February)

Catherine A. Gruber, Assistant Editor

Claudette K. Baylor-Fleming, Administrative Assistant

Carmela J. Chamberlain, Program Associate

Theresa M. Fisher, Senior Program Assistant

Rodney N. Howard, Senior Program Assistant

Celeste A. Naylor, Senior Program Assistant


Term ended during 2005.


Staff of the Board on Physics and Astronomy who are shared with the SSB.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement