Professor Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, France

Claude Cohen-Tannoudji is a research scientist in the Department of Physics at the Ecole Normale Supérieure in Paris. In 1973 he became professor and chairman of the nuclear and molecular physics department of the Collège de France. He is a member of the French Academy of Sciences and secretary general of its Comité de Défense des Hommes de Sciences. In 1997 Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, Steven Chu, and William D. Phillips were awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics “for their development of techniques that use laser light to cool atoms to extremely low temperatures.”

Lord Dahrendorf, United Kingdom

Ralf Dahrendorf, a philosopher and sociologist, is a member of the House of Lords of the British Parliament. Originally from Germany, Lord Dahrendorf became a British citizen in 1991. In the early 1970s he was German State Secretary of Foreign Affairs. Later he was director of the London School of Economics and warden of St. Antony’s College at Oxford University. Lord Dahrendorf received a Ph.D. in philosophy from the University of Hamburg and a second doctorate in sociology from the London School of Economics. He has received 26 honorary doctorates and has been decorated by seven countries. Lord Dahrendorf is a member of the British Academy and a foreign member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, the Royal Irish Academy, the Russian Academy of Sciences, and the Polish Academy of Sciences.

Professor Dame Julia Higgins, United Kingdom

Dame Julia Higgins is foreign secretary and vice president of The Royal Society in London. She is a professor of polymer science at the Imperial College London and director of its recently formed Graduate School of Engineering and Physical Sciences. Professor Dame Julia Higgins is also chair of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council and a member and former chair of the Steering Committee of the Athena Project. She is a fellow of the Institute of Physics, the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Royal Society of Chemistry, and a foreign associate of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering. She received a doctorate in physical chemistry from the University of Oxford.

Professor Jonathan H. Marks, United Kingdom

Jonathan Marks is a barrister in Matrix Chambers, London. He is currently Greenwall Fellow in Bioethics at Georgetown and John Hopkins Universities. He formerly taught at Worcester College, Oxford and King’s College London, and in Australia. In recent years Professor Marks developed a course on terrorism and the law, which he has taught in Europe and in the United States, including at Princeton University and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Professor Sari Nusseibeh, Palestinian Authority

Sari Nusseibeh has been president of Al-Quds University in East Jerusalem since 1995. Previously, from 1978 to 1994, he was professor of philosophy at Bir Zeit University on the West Bank. He is the founder and head of the Palestinian Consultancy Group, which conducts research projects on Palestinian infrastructure management. Professor Nusseibeh formerly served as the Minister of Jerusalem Affairs for the Palestinian Authority, as a member of the Palestinian

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement