John Polanyi, Canada

John Polanyi is professor of chemistry at the University of Toronto. He is a member of the Royal Society of Canada. John Polanyi was the founding chair, in 1960, of the Canadian Pugwash Group, and he remained chair until 1978. He has published over a hundred articles on peace and human rights and is founding member and president of the Canadian Committee of Scientists and Scholars. In 1986 John Polanyi, Dudley Herschbach, and Yuan T. Lee were awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry “for their contributions concerning the dynamics of chemical elementary processes.”

Pieter van Dijk, The Netherlands

Pieter van Dijk is state councillor of the Council of State of the Netherlands. He was a judge on the European Court of Human Rights from 1996-1998. Pieter van Dijk was a professor of international law at Utrecht University and a member of the Court of Appeals of The Hague. He has been chair of the Netherlands Institute of Human Rights since 1982 and is a member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences. He was bestowed a knighthood in 2004.

Edoardo Vesentini, Italy

Edoardo Vesentini, a mathematician, is president emeritus of the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei in Rome. He is presently a full professor of mathematical analysis at the Politecnico di Torino and a member of the Accademia delle Scienze of Turin. Edoardo Vesentini is a recipient of the Gold Medal for contributions to education, culture, and art and the Commander of the Order of Merit of the Italian Republic.

Torsten Wiesel, United States

Torsten Wiesel, M.D., a neurobiologist, is secretary general of the Human Frontier Science Program and chairman of the Board of the New York Academy of Sciences. He is also president emeritus and Vincent and Brook Astor professor (active) at The Rockefeller University in New York City. He is chairman emeritus of the Arms Division of Human Rights Watch and of the Committee on Human Rights of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, and Institute of Medicine. In 1981, Torsten Wiesel and David H. Hubel were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine “for their discoveries concerning information processing in the visual system.”

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement