Drug Administration law, biotechnology law, bioethics, and reproductive rights. In addition, she has served on the UW Hospital clinical-ethics committee, the UW institutional review board for the protection of human subjects in medical research, and the UW Bioethics Advisory Committee. Prof. Charo is the author of nearly 100 articles, book chapters, and government reports on such topics as voting rights, environmental law, medical-genetics law, reproductive rights law, science policy and bioethics. She is a member of the board of directors of the Alan Guttmacher Institute and the program board of the American Foundation for AIDS Research (amfAR). She serves on several expert advisory boards of organizations with an interest in stem-cell research, including WiCell and the California Institute for Regenerative Medicine. She has served as a consultant to the Institute of Medicine (IOM) and the National Institutes of Health (NIH) former Office of Protection from Research Risks. In 1994, Prof. Charo served on the NIH Human Embryo Research Panel, and from 1996–2001, on the presidential National Bioethics Advisory Commission where she participated in drafting its reports on such topics as cloning, stem cell research, and research ethics. She is a member of the National Research Council (NRC) Board on Life Sciences and the IOM Board on Population Health and Public Health Practices. She currently co-chairs the NRC-IOM Human Embryonic Stem Cell Research Advisory Committee.

Susan Edgman-Levitan, PA, is executive director of the John D. Stoeckle Center for Primary Care Innovation at Massachusetts General Hospital (MGH). She is a lecturer in the Department of Medicine of Massachusetts General Hospital and an associate in health policy at Harvard Medical School. Before going to MGH, Ms. Edgman-Levitan was the founding president of the Picker Institute. She has been the coprincipal investigator on the Harvard Consumer Assessment of Health Plans Study (CAHPS) from 1995 to the present, which is funded by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. She has served as chair of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) Breakthrough Series Collaborative on Improving Service Quality and is the IHI fellow for patient and family-centered care. She is an editor of Through the Patient’s Eyes (a book on creating and sustaining patient centered care), The CAHPS Improvement Guide, and has written many papers and other publications on patient-centered care. She serves on several boards, including those of the National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF), the Center for Information Therapy, the Foundation for Informed Medical Decision Making, Planetree, and the American Academy on Physician and Patient. She has co-chaired the annual NPSF congress on patient safety since 2002. She received the Distinguished Alumni Award from the Duke Physician Assistant Program and was inducted into the Duke University Medical Center Hall of Fame in 2004. She received her PA degree from Duke University.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement