NRC National Research Council

NRL Naval Research Laboratory

NSECs Nanoscale Science and Engineering Centers (NSF program)

NSET Nanoscale Science, Engineering, and Technology (Subcommittee of the NSTC)

NSF National Science Foundation

NSP Nanotechnology Standards Panel (ANSI)

NSRC Nanoscale Science Research Centers (DOE program)

NSTC National Science and Technology Council

NTP National Toxicology Program

NTRC Nanotechnology Research Center (NIOSH)

OMB Office of Management and Budget

ORD Office of Research and Development (EPA)

OSTP Office of Science and Technology Policy

PCA program component area

PCAST President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology

R&D research and development

REACH Registration, Evaluation and Authorisation of Chemicals

SBIR Small Business Innovation Research (multiagency program)

STAR Science to Achieve Results (program)

STEM science, technology, engineering, and mathematics

STTR Small Business Technology Transfer (multiagency program)

SWNT single-wall carbon nanotube

TA Technology Administration (Department of Commerce)

TAG technical advisory group

TF task force

TSCA Toxic Substances Control Act

USDA U.S. Department of Agriculture

U.S. NRC U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

USPTO U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (Department of Commerce)

VC venture capital

WG working group

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement