• A selection committee for United Kingdom Visiting Fellows consisted of four distinguished United Kingdom biomedical scientists, including:

Walter Bodmer, Ph.D., F.R.S.


Imperial Cancer Research

Sydney Brenner, Ph.D., F.R.S.

Head, Molecular Genetics Unit

Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology

University of Cambridge School of Medicine

George Stark, Ph.D.

Chairman, Research Institute

The Cleveland Clinic

Sir David Weatherall, M.D., Ch.B., F.R.C.P., F.R.S.

Regis Professor of Medicine

University of Oxford

  • A selection committee for Australian Visiting Fellows consisted of three distinguished Australian biomedical scientists, including:

Professor Emeritus Sir Gustov J. V. Nossal, A.C., C.B.E., Pres.A.A., F.R.S.

The Walther and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Professor Emeritus Donald Metcalf, A.C., M.D., F.A.A., F.R.S. Assistant Director

The Walther and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Professor James Pittard, Ph.D. Yale, D.Sc. Melb, F.A.A.

Professor of Microbiology

University of Melbourne

  • Each committee would invite 10 to 12 leading laboratories in the United Kingdom or Australia to nominate 1 or 2 candidates for the Markey Award. Nominees would be either at the postdoctoral or junior faculty level. The committee would review nominees and then hold one meeting to make final selections.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement