Strategies to Strengthen the Scientific Excellence of the NIH Intramural Research Program.

Lee Sechrest, Ph.D., is Professor of Psychology at the University of Arizona. His primary interest is in development and improvement of methods for research and data analysis, particularly for research in field settings. He is also involved in program evaluation. Substantive areas include health and mental health services, clinical psychology, and personality. Additional areas of expertise include research methodology, measurement, program evaluation, quality assurance in service delivery, and quality of scientific information. He is interested and involved in matters having to do with the development of psychology as a responsible, science-based profession. Before coming to Arizona, he held faculty positions in Pennsylvania State University, Northwestern University, Florida State University, and the University of Michigan. He received his Ph.D. from the Ohio State University. Dr. Sechrest has served on five NRC study committees, including the Panel to Study Gender Differences in the Career Outcomes of Science and Engineering Ph.D.s.

Virginia Weldon, M.D., is retired Senior Vice President for Public Policy with the Monsanto Company. In this position she identified public policy issues affecting the company and planned for and orchestrated Monsanto’s approach to these issues. Prior to joining Monsanto in 1989, Dr. Weldon was Professor of Pediatrics and Associate Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs at the Washington University School of Medicine. Dr. Weldon is on the Board of Directors of G.D. Searle & Company, The NutraSweet Company, and the Monsanto Fund. She holds an M.D. (1962) from the University of Buffalo and an A.B. (1957) from Smith College. She is a member of the Institute of Medicine and serves on the Report Review Committee of the National Research Council and Institute of Medicine.

James Wyngaarden, M.D., is Professor Emeritus at Duke University. At Duke, Dr. Wyngaarden served as Associate Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs, Chief of Staff and Physician-in-Chief at Duke University Hospital, and Frederic M. Hanes Professor and Chairman, Department of Medicine at the Duke University School of Medicine. From 1982 to 1989, Dr. Wyngaarden was Director, U.S. National Institutes of Health, and from 1989 to 1990 was Associate Director for Life Sciences, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. Dr. Wyngaarden holds an M.D. (1948) from the University of Michigan Medical School. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the Institute of Medicine and is a former Foreign Secretary of the NAS and IOM.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement