Department of Medicine at the University of Washington School of Medicine. She is a member of several national committees related to sexually transmitted infections and HIV/AIDS, including the Expert Consultants’ Group for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s STD Treatment Guidelines and the Curriculum Committee for the Advancing HIV Prevention Initiative of the CDC. She also serves on the Institutional Review Board for the Program for Appropriate Technology in Health. Dr. Marrazzo received her MD from Jefferson Medical College and her MPH from the University of Washington.

Megan Murray MD, ScD, MPH, is assistant professor of epidemiology at the Harvard University School of Public Health and an infectious-disease physician at Massachusetts General Hospital. Her research focuses on using molecular and genomic epidemiology and mathematical modeling to understand the transmission dynamics of tuberculosis. She received her MD, ScD, and MPH from Harvard University.

Edward C. Oldfield III, MD, is professor of medicine, microbiology and molecular cell biology and director of the Division of Infectious Diseases at Eastern Virginia Medical School. Dr. Oldfield is chair of the Infection Control Committee and a hospital epidemiologist at Sentara Norfolk General Hospital. His clinical interests include tropical and travel medicine. He received his MD from the University of Virginia Medical School.

Randall R. Reves, MD, MSc, is professor of medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases at the University of Colorado Health Sciences Center. Dr. Reves is medical director of the Denver Metro Tuberculosis Clinic of the Denver Public Health Department and is a member of the National Tuberculosis Controllers Association, of which he was president in 2003. His research experience includes participation in multicenter clinical research in the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Tuberculosis Trials Consortium and Tuberculosis Epidemiologic Studies Consortium. He received his MD from the University of Texas Medical Branch and his MSc in Epidemiology from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.

Edward T. Ryan, MD, is associate professor of medicine at the Harvard Medical School and director of the Tropical and Geographic Medicine Center at Massachusetts General Hospital. Dr. Ryan is an active member of two National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) committees and has served on several other committees for NIAID, the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. His research focuses on enteric infections and the development of vaccines that protect against such infections. He received his MD from Harvard University.

Sten Vermund, MD, PhD, is professor of pediatrics, medicine, preventive medicine, and obstetrics and gynecology at the Vanderbilt University School of Medicine. He holds the Amos Christie Chair in Global Health and serves as director of the Vanderbilt Institute for Global Health. Dr. Vermund is an infectious-disease epidemiologist and pediatrician with substantial research and training experience overseas. From 1988 to 1994, Dr. Vermund was chief of the Vaccine Trials and Epidemiology Branch, Division of AIDS, at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases. His work in HIV vaccine clinical-trial preparedness led to the 1994 Superior Service Award, the highest civilian honor in the Public Health Service. Dr. Vermund works on HIV prevention and care with support from the National Institutes of Health and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Dawn M. Wesson, PhD, is an associate professor in the Department of Tropical Medicine and Parasitology at Tulane School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine and director of the

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement