the United States and abroad and was awarded honorary doctorates from Clark University, (2000) and Bern University, Switzerland (2001). She received American Chemical Society Awards for Nuclear Chemistry in 1983, the Garvan-Olin Medal in 1990, and the Priestley Medal in 2000. She was awarded the U.S. National Medal of Science in 1997, the Sigma Xi Proctor Prize for Scientific Achievement in 2003, and the Radiochemistry Society Lifetime Achievement Award in 2004. She has served on several boards and committees for the National Research Council including the Board on Radioactive Waste Management and the Committee on End Points for Spent Nuclear Fuel and High-Level Radioactive Waste in Russia and the United States.

Roger E. Kasperson (NAS) is a research professor at the George Perkins Marsh Institute at Clark University. He has also served as executive director of the Stockholm Environment Institute. He received his doctorate from the University of Chicago and has taught at the University of Connecticut and Michigan State University. His expertise is in risk analysis, global environmental change, and environmental policy. Dr. Kasperson is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the International Society for Risk Analysis. He has served on the National Research Council Board on Radioactive Waste Management (1998-2001) and the Committee on Disposition of High-Level Radioactive Waste Through Geological Isolation: Development, Current Status, and Technical Policy Challenges (1999-2001). He also has been honored by the Association of American Geographers for his hazards research. He chaired the International Geographical Union Commission on Critical Situations/Regions in Global Environmental Change. He currently serves on the Executive Committee of the Environmental Protection Agency’s Science Advisory Board, is a trustee of the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies in Japan, serves on the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Change and the Science Advisory Committee of the Tyndall Center for Climate Change Research, and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences. He has authored or coedited 18 books and monographs and more than 120 articles or chapters in scholarly journals or books.

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement