electron microscopy to image atomic-scale features through electron channeling contrast imaging; the use of electron energy-loss spectroscopy to study environmental and radiation effects on carbon nanotubes; and the use of advanced transmission electron microscopy techniques such as convergent-beam electron diffraction to study the growth of nanowires and nanostructures. Dr. Crimp has a Ph.D. from Case Western Reserve University and M.S. and B.S. degrees from Michigan Technological University.

Charles B. Duke is professor of physics at the University of Rochester. At the end of 2005 he retired as vice president and senior research fellow in the Xerox Innovation Group. Prior to holding that position, he was deputy director and chief scientist of the Pacific Northwest Division of the Battelle Memorial Institute and affiliate professor of physics at the University of Washington. From 1972 to 1988 he held various technical and management positions at the Xerox Research Laboratories in Webster, New York, and was an adjunct professor of physics at the University of Rochester. During the years 1969-1972, he was a professor of physics and member of the Materials Research Laboratory and Coordinated Science Laboratory at the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign, following 6 years as a staff member of the General Electric Corporate Research and Development Center in Schenectady, New York. He received his Ph.D. in physics from Princeton University in 1963, following a B.S. summa cum laude with distinction in mathematics from Duke University in 1959. He is a fellow and an honorary member of the American Vacuum Society, a fellow of the American Physical Society, a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), a member of the Materials Research Society, and a life member of Sigma Xi. In 1977, Dr. Duke received the Medard W. Welch Award in Vacuum Science and Technology. He served as president of the American Vacuum Society in 1979, on its board of directors for 7 years, and as a trustee during 2003-2005. In 1981 he was named one of the ISI 1000 internationally most cited scientists. During the period 1985-1986 he served as founding editor-in-chief of the Journal of Materials Research, and from 1992 to 2001 he was editor-in-chief of Surface Science and Surface Science Letters. He served on the council of the Materials Research Society for 7 years, serving as treasurer in 1991-1992. In 1993 he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering and in 2001 to the National Academy of Sciences. During the period 1995 to 1999 he served on the council and executive board of the American Physical Society. In 2006 he was awarded the George E. Pake prize of the American Physical Society. From 1997 to 2000 he served as general chairman of the Physical Electronics Conference. He served on the governing board of the American Institute of Physics for 11 years and on its corporate associates advisory committee for nearly 20 years. During 2004-2005 he served as chair of a National Research Council study of Network Science. He has written more than 370 papers on surface science, materials research, semiconduc-

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement