EAIS East Antarctic Ice Sheet

EPICA European Project for Ice Coring in Antarctica

FISH Fluorescence In Situ Hybridization

FOSA Heptadecafluorooctane Sulfonamide

GC-MS Gas Chromatography-Mass Spectroscopy

GISP Greenland Ice Sheet Project

GRIP Greenland Ice Core Project

HCFC Hydrochlorofluorocarbon

ICSU International Council for Science

IEE Initial Environmental Evaluation

IGY International Geophysical Year

IODP Integrated Ocean Drilling Program

IPEV French Polar Institute

IPY International Polar Year

LC-MS Liquid Chromatography-Mass Spectroscopy

ME Maintenance Energy

MPa Megapascal

NAC NASA Advisory Council

NASA National Aeronautics and Space Administration

NDELA Nitrosodiethanolamine

NGRIP North Greenland Ice Core Project

NIPR National Institute of Polar Research

NPOC Non-purgeable Organic Carbon

NPR NASA Procedural Requirement

NRC National Research Council

NSF National Science Foundation

NTU Nephelometric Turbidity Unit

ODP Ocean Drilling Program

OPP Office of Polar Programs

PFT Perfluorocarbon Tracer

PNRA National Research Program in Antarctica

POC Particulate Organic Carbon

PP Planetary Protection

PPP Panel on Planetary Protection

PVC Polyvinyl Chloride

RCB Rotary Core Barrel

RES Radio-Echo Sounding

ROS Reactive Oxygen Species

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement