Threats. She is a National Academies Mentor in the Life Sciences, a fellow in the American Academy of Microbiology, co-founder of the Women in Science and Engineering Leadership Institute, President of the Rosalind Franklin Society, Director of the Wisconsin Program for Scientific Teaching, co-director of the National Academies Summer Institute on Undergraduate Education in Biology, and chair-elect of the Department of Bacteriology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

James M. Tiedje (Cochair) is a University Distinguished Professor of Microbiology and Director of the Center for Microbial Ecology at Michigan State University. He received his B.S. degree from Iowa State University and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Cornell University. He has 30 years experience leading internationally recognized research on understanding the ecology, physiology, and biochemistry of microbial processes important in nature and of value to industry, especially to find ways to destroy hazardous wastes and to use DNA-based technologies to explore the unknown microbial world. He has received the Soil Science Research Award from the Soil Science Society of America, the Environmental Award from the American Society for Microbiology and shared the 1992 Finley Prize given by UNESCO for research contributions in microbiology of international significance. He is Fellow of the AAAS and Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology. Dr. Tiedje is past chair of EPA’s Science Advisory Panel (FIFRA), past chair of the Soil Biology Commission of the International Union of Soil Science, is past president of the International Society of Microbial Ecology, and is the past President of the American Society for Microbiology. He also serves on the Department of Energy’s Biological and Environmental Research Advisory Committee. He was elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences in 2003.

Lisa Alvarez-Cohen is the Fred and Claire Sauer Professor of Environmental Engineering in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley. She received her B.A. from Harvard University and her M.S. and Ph.D. in environmental engineering and science from Stanford University. Her research interests are on the microbial degradation of environmental contaminants in natural and engineered systems with focuses on emerging contaminants and application of innovative molecular tools. Dr. Alvarez-Cohen is an associate editor of Environmental Engineering Science and recently co-authored a textbook entitled Environmental Engineering Science.

Michael Ashburner is Professor of Biology at the University of Cambridge. He is the former Joint-Head of the European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI). Dr. Ashburner received both his undergraduate degree and Ph.D. at the

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement