and Radiation Studies Board, was chair of the Board on Radiation Effects Research from 2002 to 2005 and has served on numerous National Research Council and IOM committees.

Peter S. Conti (M.D., Cornell University; Ph.D., biophysics, Cornell University) is professor of radiology, pharmacy, and biomedical engineering at the University of Southern California (USC), as well as director of the USC Positron Imaging Science Center and Clinic. He is board certified in nuclear medicine and diagnostic radiology, and his expertise is in the clinical use of positron emission tomography in the diagnosis, staging, and treatment of cancer. In addition, he is interested in the development of new radiolabeled imaging agents. He was the recipient of the Young Investigator Award by the American Society of Clinical Oncology and the postdoctoral award by Johns Hopkins Medical Institute in 1990. He is past president of the Society of Nuclear Medicine.

Joanna Fowler (Ph.D., chemistry, University of Colorado) is a senior chemist at Brookhaven National Laboratory and director of the Brookhaven PET Program. She has had a long-term interest in radiotracer synthesis with positron emitters and new applications of radiotracers in neuroscience. She was elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in 2003. She is the recipient of the Garvan-Olin Award and the Glen T. Seaborg Award from the American Chemical Society, the Paul Aebersold Award from the Society of Nuclear Medicine, and the E. O. Lawrence Award from the Department of Energy. She served on the NAS Panel on Benchmarking the Research Competitiveness of the U.S. in Chemistry and has served on the Committee on Nuclear and Radiochemistry and on the Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology.

Joe Gray (Ph.D., physics, Kansas State University) holds appointments as associate laboratory director for Life and Environmental Science at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), director of the Division of Life Sciences at LBNL, and adjunct professor of laboratory medicine and radiation oncology at the University of California at San Francisco (UCSF). He also is program leader for breast oncology in the UCSF Comprehensive Cancer Center and is a member of UCSF’s Program in Biological and Medical Informatics and the Graduate Group in Biophysics. His research interests include the development of analytic techniques in the study of cancer, and his current work focuses on the use of systems approaches to develop strategies to predict individual responses to agents that target signaling pathways regulating proliferation and/or apoptosis. Major awards include the E.O Lawrence Award from the Department of Energy, the Curt Stern Award from the American Society for Human Genetics, and the Leader-

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement