Douglas M. Chapin (NAE) is principal officer and director, MPR Associates, Inc., Alexandria, Virginia. He has extensive experience in electrical, chemical, and nuclear engineering, with particular application to nuclear and conventional power plant problems and functions, including numerous aspects of power plant systems and their associated components. He has worked in instrumentation and control systems, nuclear fuels, fluid mechanics, heat transfer, pumps, advanced analysis methods, test facility design, and electrical systems and components. Dr. Chapin has been involved in a number of efforts, including the Japan/Germany/United States research program on loss of coolant accidents (LOCAs), served as project leader for the design, construction, and testing of the loss of fluid test (LOFT) facility, was a member of EPRI’s Utility Review Committee on Advanced Reactor Designs, and worked with the Utility/EPRI Advanced Light Water Reactor Program, which defined utility requirements for future nuclear power plants. He was chairman of the NRC’s Committee on Application of Digital Instrumentation and Control Technology to Nuclear Power Plant Operations and Safety, and is chair of its Board on Energy and Environmental Systems. Dr. Chapin is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), has served as a member of its Electric Power/Energy Systems Engineering Peer Committee, and is currently a member of its Committee on Membership. He is a fellow of the American Nuclear Society (ANS). He has a B.S. in electrical engineering, Duke University, an M.S. in applied science, George Washington University, and a Ph.D., nuclear studies in chemical engineering, Princeton University.

Gregory R. Choppin is currently the Robert O. Lawton Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at Florida State University. His research interests involve the chemistry and separation of the f-elements and the physical chemistry of concentrated electrolyte solutions. During a postdoctoral period at the Lawrence Radiation Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley, he participated in the discovery of mendelevium, element 101. His research and educational activities have been recognized by the American Chemical Society’s Award in Nuclear Chemistry, the Southern Chemist Award of the American Chemical Society, the Manufacturing Chemist Award in Chemical Education, the Chemical Pioneer Award of the American Institute of Chemistry, a Presidential Citation Award of the ANS, the Becquerel Medal of the Royal Society of Chemistry, the Hevesy Award in Radiochemistry (Hungary), and honorary D.Sc. degrees from Loyola University and the Chalmers University of Technology (Sweden). He has served on numerous advisory groups and NRC committees on separations chemistry, nuclear fuel, and nuclear waste. He has served on over a dozen NRC committees and boards, including the Panel on Separations Technology and Transmutation Systems, the Committee on Electrometallurgical Techniques for DOE Spent Fuel, the Board on Radioactive Waste Management, and the Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology. He holds a Ph.D. in inorganic chemistry from the University of Texas, Austin.

Michael Corradini (NAE) is chairperson and professor in the Department of Engineering Physics at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Dr. Corradini’s research focus is nuclear engineering and multiphase flow with specific interests that include light water reactor safety, fusion reactor design and safety, waste management and disposal, vapor explosions research and molten core concrete interaction research, and energy policy analysis. He is a member of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the American Society of Engineering Education, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and a fellow of the ANS. Dr. Corradini has received numerous awards, including the National Science Foundation’s Presidential Young Investigators Award, the ANS reactor safety best paper award, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison campus teaching award. He is the author of over 100 technical papers and has served on various technical review committees, including the research review panel of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (USNRC) and the direct heating review group. He is currently a member of the NRC’s Electric Power/Energy Systems Engineering Peer Committee and chair of the Frontiers of Engineering organizing committee. He has served on several NRC committees, including the Committee on Alternatives for Controlling the Release of Solid Materials from NuRC-Licensed Facilities. Dr. Corradini was elected to the NAE in 1998. He received a B.S. in mechanical engineering from Marquette University and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in nuclear engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

James R. Curtiss is a partner in the Winston & Strawn, Washington, D.C., office and chairs the firm’s energy practice. He was a commissioner of the USNRC (1988-1993); counsel to the Subcommittee on Nuclear Regulation of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works, working for the committee’s Republicans; and a lawyer in the office of the executive legal director of the USNRC and a legal assistant for then-Commissioner Richard T. Kennedy. He concentrates his practice in energy policy and nuclear regulatory law and focuses on strategic advice and counsel for utilities, nuclear fuel cycle companies, government contractors, and trade associations on regulatory and legislative matters, including corporate governance, industry restructuring, and legislative and regulatory energy policy issues. He has extensive experience in regulatory and licensing policy as well as in the drafting and enactment of many key pieces of legislation, having been involved in establishing regulatory policy for all civilian uses of nuclear materials, including commercial nuclear power plants, industrial users, universities, and hospitals, as well as the formulation of the Part 52 framework for certification of nuclear plant designs, early site permits, combined licenses, and nuclear waste policy. He

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement