Laboratory (1997-1998), NSF Presidential Young Investigator (1990-1995), and fellow, ANS. Dr. Peterson’s research and teaching focus on problems in energy and environmental systems, including inertial confinement fusion, advanced reactors, high level nuclear waste processing, and nuclear materials management, as well as on heat and mass transfer, fluid dynamics, and reactor thermal hydraulics as they pertain to nuclear applications. Ongoing research includes molten salt applications in nuclear hydrogen and electricity production, advanced high-temperature Brayton cycles, high-temperature ceramic composite heat exchangers, and fission and fusion applications. Recent publications include an assessment methodology for proliferation resistance and physical protection of Generation IV nuclear power systems. Dr. Peterson manages the UCB Thermal Hydraulics Research Laboratory. He has a B.S. in mechanical engineering, University of Nevada, Reno, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in mechanical engineering, UCB.

Geoffrey S. Rothwell is a senior lecturer, Department of Economics, and associate director, Public Policy Program, Stanford University (1986-present). His research focuses on all aspects of nuclear power economics, including the application of options theory to investment in new nuclear plants (NP 2010) and the economics of advanced nuclear electricity and hydrogen technology selection (Gen IV). He has been on many advisory groups, including these: (1) Generation IV Roadmap committee (member, Evaluation Methodology Group, 2001-2003, and co-chair, Economics Cross-cut Group, 2002-2003) and, currently, Economic Modeling Working Group, Generation IV International Forum (2003-2007), (2) chair, International Atomic Energy Agency’s Committee on Methodology for Nuclear Power Plant Performance and Statistical Analysis (1995-1997), and (3) member, NRC’s Committee on Decontamination and Decommissioning of the Uranium Enrichment Facilities (1993-1996). He was a postdoctoral fellow at the California Institute of Technology (1985-1986). He received a Ph.D. in economics from UCB (1985); an M.A. in jurisprudence and social policy, Boalt Hall Law School, UCB (1984); an M.A. in economics, UCB (1982); a B.A. from Evergreen State College (1975); and a baccalauréat (A4) from the Lycée François Premier, Le Havre, France (1972).

John J. Taylor (NAE) is a nuclear energy consultant. As vice president for nuclear power at EPRI (retired), he was responsible for nuclear power R&D in support utilities worldwide. As vice president, now retired, of Westinghouse Electric’s water reactors business unit, he was responsible for the company’s worldwide commercial nuclear power business. He played key roles in the development of the first U.S. nuclear-powered submarines, aircraft carriers, and cruisers, and the first U.S. nuclear electric generating station. Mr. Taylor has served on many advisory committees on nuclear power R&D, reactor design, the safety and reliability of nuclear power plants, and nuclear weapon proliferation both here and abroad, giving advice to nuclear energy industry associations, the National Academies, DOE, the USNRC, national laboratories, the IAEA, and the OECD Nuclear Energy Agency. He has testified on nuclear energy issues to the U.S. Senate, the U.S. House of Representatives, and the U.K. House of Commons. Mr. Taylor is a member of the NAE, a member and fellow of the ANS, the APS, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He has authored or coauthored many papers and articles and several books on various aspects of nuclear energy. He has A.B. and D.Sc.(Hon.) degrees from St. John’s University and an M.S. degree from the University of Notre Dame.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement