CONTACT US …

INSTITUTE OF MEDICINE

500 Fifth Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20001

(202) 334-2659

www.iom.edu


Executive Office

President: Harvey V. Fineberg, NAS-323, (202) 334-3300

Interim Executive Officer: Clyde J. B›ney, KC-848, (202) 334-2177; cb›ney@nas.edu

Foreign Secretary: Jo Ivey Boufford, NAS-315, (202) 334-3366

Home Secretary: Stephen J. Ryan, NAS-316, (202) 334-2174

Office of Reports and Communications

Director of Communications: Bethany Hardy, KC-837, (202) 334-2258; bhardy@nas.edu

Health Policy Educational Programs and Fellowships

Director: Marie Michnich, KC-759, (202) 334-1296; mmichnich@nas.edu

Board on African Science Academy Development

Director: Patrick Kelley, KC-850, (202) 334-2650; pkelley@nas.edu

Board on Children, Youth, and Families

Director: Rosemary Chalk, KC-1157, (202) 334-1230; rchalk@nas.edu

Food and Nutrition Board

Director: Linda Meyers, KC-740, (202) 334-3153; lmeyers@nas.edu

Board on Global Health

Director: Patrick Kelley, KC-850, (202) 334-2650; pkelley@nas.edu

Board on Health Care Services

Acting Director: Michele Orza, KC-758a, (202) 334-3142; morza@nas.edu

Board on Health Sciences Policy

Director: Andrew Pope, KC-829, (202) 334-1739; apope@nas.edu

Board on Military and Veterans Health and Medical Follow-Up Agency

Director: Rick Erdtmann, KC-773, (202) 334-1925; rerdtmann@nas.edu

Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice

Director: Rose Marie Martinez, KC-855, (202) 334-2655; rmartine@nas.edu


The IOM’s ability to respond quickly and independently to emerging health issues depends in part on private financial resources provided through the philanthropy of individuals, foundations, and for-profit organizations. For information on opportunities to provide philanthropic support for the IOM, please contact:


The National Academies/Institute of Medicine Office of Development

Senior Development Officer: Ellen Urbanski, KC-803, (202) 334-2431; eurbanski@nas.edu

giving@nationalacademies.org

www7.nationalacademies.org/giving/



The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement



Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 113
contact US . . . INSTITUTE OF MEDICINE 500 Fifth Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20001 (202) 334-2659 www.iom.edu Executive Office President: Harvey V. Fineberg, NAS-323, (202) 334-3300 Interim Executive Officer: Clyde J. Behney, KC-848, (202) 334-2177; cbehney@nas.edu Foreign Secretary: Jo Ivey Boufford, NAS-315, (202) 334-3366 Home Secretary: Stephen J. Ryan, NAS-316, (202) 334-2174 Office of Reports and Communications Director of Communications: Bethany Hardy, KC-837, (202) 334-2258; bhardy@nas.edu Health Policy Educational Programs and Fellowships Director: Marie Michnich, KC-759, (202) 334-1296; mmichnich@nas.edu Board on African Science Academy Development Director: Patrick Kelley, KC-850, (202) 334-2650; pkelley@nas.edu Board on Children, Youth, and Families Director: Rosemary Chalk, KC-1157, (202) 334-1230; rchalk@nas.edu Food and Nutrition Board Director: Linda Meyers, KC-740, (202) 334-3153; lmeyers@nas.edu Board on Global Health Director: Patrick Kelley, KC-850, (202) 334-2650; pkelley@nas.edu Board on Health Care Services Acting Director: Michele Orza, KC-758a, (202) 334-3142; morza@nas.edu Board on Health Sciences Policy Director: Andrew Pope, KC-829, (202) 334-1739; apope@nas.edu Board on Military and Veterans Health and Medical Follow-Up Agency Director: Rick Erdtmann, KC-773, (202) 334-1925; rerdtmann@nas.edu Board on Population Health and Public Health Practice Director: Rose Marie Martinez, KC-855, (202) 334-2655; rmartine@nas.edu The IOM’s ability to respond quickly and independently to emerging health issues depends in part on private financial resources provided through the philanthropy of individuals, foun- dations, and for-profit organizations. For information on opportunities to provide philan- thropic support for the IOM, please contact: The National Academies/Institute of Medicine Office of Development Senior Development Officer: Ellen Urbanski, KC-803, (202) 334-2431; eurbanski@nas.edu giving@nationalacademies.org www7.nationalacademies.org/giving/ 

OCR for page 113