John H. Daly is Manager Director of the Genesee County Road Commission in Flint, Michigan. In this capacity, he is the Chief Administrative Officer of the fifth-largest road construction and maintenance agency in Michigan. The commission administers 1,800 miles of highway and employs more than 200 people. Before joining the commission in 1999 he was City Manager of Three Rivers, Michigan, and Executive Director of the St. Joseph County Housing Rehabilitation Authority. He has also been Manager of Fayette, Ohio. He serves on the Board of Directors and is past President of the County Road Association of Michigan. He is a charter member of the Michigan Transportation Research Board and is active in the National Association of County Engineers. He retired from the U.S. Marine Corps. He earned a BA from Texas A&M University, an MS in systems management from the University of Southern California, an MS in systems technology from the U.S. Naval Postgraduate School, and a PhD in administration and management from Walden University, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

T. Bella Dinh-Zarr is Director of the North America Make Roads Safe Campaign. She was previously the National Director of Traffic Safety Policy for the American Automobile Association (AAA). She joined AAA in March 2002 as lead scientist and public spokesperson for the organization’s traffic safety activities. She trained with the Cochrane Collaboration Injury Group in London and was a Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Fellow and member of the CDC’s motor vehicle team for the U.S. Guide to Community Preventive Services. She has been a Research Associate at the Texas Transportation Institute and a Scientist at the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). Her research interests include seat belt policies, alcohol-related injuries, and senior mobility. She cochairs the Aging and Mobility Roundtable attended by leaders in the fields of transportation and aging and was a Presidential Appointee to the 2005 White House Conference on Aging Advisory Committee. She is a member of the TRB Committees on Safe Mobility of Older Persons, Occupant Protection, and Traffic Safety in Developing Countries. She was awarded the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Secretary’s Award, the CDC Outstanding Scientific Contribution to Public Health Award, and the NHTSA Recognition Award. She has a BA from Rice University and an MPH and a PhD in health policy

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement