depressants to help establish AEGL values for several chemicals. He performs consulting work as a Certified Industrial Hygienist providing advice on testing, evaluation, and control of chemical agents such as heavy metals, solvents, pesticides, and biological materials. He currently serves as the vice chair of the Biological Monitoring Committee of the American Industrial Hygiene Association.

Jeffrey W. Fisher is a Professor in the Department of Environmental Health Science, College of Public Health at the University of Georgia (UGA). He joined the University of Georgia in 2000 and served as Department Head of the Department of Environmental Health Science from 2000 to 2006. He now serves as Director of the Interdisciplinary Toxicology Program at UGA. He spent most of his career at the Toxicology Laboratory, Wright Patterson AFB, where he was Principal Investigator and Senior Scientist in the Toxics Hazards Division and Technical Advisor for the Operational Toxicology Branch. Dr. Fisher research interests are in the development and application of biologically based mathematical models to ascertain health risks from environmental and occupational chemical exposures. Dr. Fisher’s modeling experience includes working with chlorinated and non-chlorinated solvents, fuels, PCB, pyrethroids and perchlorate. Dr. Fisher has published over 100 papers on pharmacokinetics and PBPK modeling in laboratory animals and humans. He has served on several panels and advisory boards for the DoD, ATSDR, USEPA and non-profit organizations. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences subcommittee on Acute Exposure Guideline Levels (2004-present) and is a Fellow of the Academy of Toxicological Sciences.

James J. McGrath is professor emeritus at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Lubbock, TX. He received his Ph.D. from Indiana University in 1968. Dr. McGrath served at EPA’s Office of Risk Assessment and was awarded a Silver Star in recognition of work in evaluating the world’s health and toxicology literature for relevancy to standard setting for diesel exhausts and worked on Air Quality Criteria for Carbon Monoxide, and also served as a consultant for Indoor Air Quality for the EPA’s new campus. He served as a principal author for the EPA’s Air Quality Criteria for Particulate Matter for several chapters. He is serving (or has served) on the editorial boards of American Journal of Physiology, Science, Molecular Pharmacology, Journal of Applied Toxicology, Journal of Toxicology and Environmental Health, Toxicology Letters, and CRC Press. He has served on the Society of Toxicology’s Inhalation Toxicology specialty section.

Chiu-Wing Lam is a senior toxicologist at Wyle Laboratories in Houston, TX. He received his Ph.D. in toxicology from the University of Rochester in 1983. He is a diplomate of the American Board of Toxicology. He has drafted numerous toxicological risk assessment documents on spacecraft maximum allowable concentrations (SMACs) since 1990. The SMAC values (for time durations ranging from 1 hr to 180 days) are valuable guidelines to NASA for their space station and space shuttle documents. He also drafted the hydrogen cyanide SMAC document. Dr. Lam has conducted numerous toxicological assessments of payload and utility chemicals used in Space Shuttle and Space Station, providing consultations to NASA flight surgeons, safety engineers, and payload customers on toxicological issues.

George C. Rodgers is professor of pediatrics at the University of Louisville, Kentucky. He received his Ph.D. in 1964 from Yale University and received his M.D. in 1975 from the State University of New York, Syracuse. He is board certified in pediatrics and medical technology. He is a member of the National Advisory Committee on Acute Exposure Guideline Levels; he was the chemical manager for the carbon monoxide AEGLs document that was reviewed by the NRC. He also served on the American Society of Safety Engineers, Z390: Accredited Standards Committee on Hydrogen Sulfide Safety Training. He is a fellow of the American College of Medical Toxicology. He is on the editorial board of Poisindex. He was a member of the Firefigthers Safety Act Technical Committee. He was president of the American Association of Poison Control Centers. He has served on committees of governmental agencies, such as EPA, ATSDR, and CDC.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement