A&M Power Systems Automation Laboratory. Prior to his current appointment, he held several key positions in the Texas A&M system, including associate vice chancellor for engineering research, executive associate dean of the College of Engineering, and deputy director of the Texas Engineering Experiment Station. His industrial interests include the presidency of Power Solutions, an engineering design firm. Dr. Russell has received a number of IEEE awards, including the Herman Halperin Transmission and Distribution Award, and he is a fellow of five professional societies. He is past president of the IEEE Power Engineering Society. Dr. Russell is also a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He has B.S. and M.E. degrees in electrical engineering from Texas A&M University and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the University of Oklahoma.

Richard E. Schuler is a P.E. in electrical engineering and has been a professor of economics and of civil and environmental engineering at Cornell University since 1972, where he has also been an adjunct professor in the Johnson Graduate School of Management since 1991. His research focuses on the role of infrastructure in supporting modern societies, including its organization, management, regulation, and pricing and its regional economic and environmental impact. Using both analytic and experimental techniques, he has worked extensively on developing efficient markets for reliable, deregulated electricity supplies that incorporate proper customer participation while encouraging needed investment. Together with colleagues from the Santa Fe Institute, he is also using numerical methods to explore the optimal structure of organizations in the information age. From 1995 to 2001, he directed the Institute for Public Affairs and Cornell’s MPA program, and he helped form and directed the Cornell Waste Management Institute from 1987 to 1993, during which time he was also associate director of Cornell’s Center for the Environment. Previously, Dr. Schuler served as a Public Service Commissioner in New York State (1981–983), as an energy consultant with Battelle Memorial Institute (1967–968), and as an engineer and manager with the Pennsylvania Power and Light Co. (1959–967). He has served as a faculty-elected trustee of Cornell University from 1994 to 1998, during which time the board appointed him to its executive committee, and, since its formation in 1998, he has been a member of the board of directors of the New York Independent System Operator (responsible for operating the state’s electricity system reliably and conducting an efficient wholesale market), where he chairs the Market Performance Committee. Dr. Schuler’s degrees are a B.E. in electrical engineering from Yale University in 1959, an M.B.A. in business from Lehigh University in 1969, and a Ph.D. in economics from Brown University in 1972.

Philip R. Sharp is president of Resources for the Future. A member of the U.S. House of Representatives from 1975 to 1995, Sharp took key leadership roles in the development of landmark energy legislation. He helped to develop a critical part of the 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments and was a driving force behind the Energy Policy Act of 1992. Following his decision not to seek an 11th consecutive term in the House, Sharp joined Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government, where he was a Lecturer in Public Policy from 1995 to 2001. He served as Director of Harvard’s Institute of Politics from 1995 to 1998 and again from 2004 until August 2005 and was a Senior Research Fellow in the Environmental and Natural Resources Program from 2001 to 2003. Sharp served on the Board of Directors of the Cinergy Corporation from 1995 to 2006 and on the Board of the Electric Power Research Institute from 2002 to 2006. He also chaired advisory committees for the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) studies on the future of nuclear power and the future of coal. Sharp is co-chair of the Energy Board of the Keystone Center and serves on the Board of Directors of the Duke Energy Corporation and the Energy Foundation. He is also a member of the Cummins Science and Technology Advisory Council and serves on the Advisory Board of the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations (INPO) and on the External Advisory Board of the MIT Energy Initiative. Sharp received his Ph.D. in government from Georgetown University.

Carson W. Taylor (NAE) is a retired principal engineer for the Bonneville Power Administration, where he had worked since 1969. His background and experience are in R&D of advanced control and operating strategies to increase transmission transfer capability and power systems reliability, and in training in modeling and simulation techniques. He has also been active in investigating power outages, system stability, security issues, and other system anomalies. He is active in IEEE, has received several awards, and publishes books and articles on a variety of power systems subjects. He is also active in training and education, passing on what he has learned through seminars and short courses. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He has a B.S in electrical engineering from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and an M.S. in electric power engineering from the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Susan F. Tierney is a managing principal at Analysis Group and is an expert on energy policy and economics, especially in the electric and gas industries. Her areas of expertise include electric industry restructuring, market analyses, wholesale and retail market design, market monitoring, contract disputes, resource planning and analysis, asset valuations, regional transmission organizations, the siting of generation and transmission and natural gas pipeline projects, natural gas markets, electric system reliability, and environmental policy and regulation. Prior to joining Analysis Group, she was senior vice president at Lexecon. She has also served as the assistant secretary for policy at the U.S. Department of Energy, appointed by President

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement