DARYL CHUBIN is the Director of the Center for Advancing Science and Engineering Capacity at the AAAS. He became Director in August 2004. Previously, he served as Senior Vice President for Research, Policy & Programs at the National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering (NACME) Inc. In addition, he spent nearly 15 years in federal service. His posts included Senior Policy Officer for the National Science Board at the NSF (1998-2001); Division Director for Research, Evaluation and Communication in NSF’s Directorate for Education and Human Resources (1993-1998); and (on detail) Assistant Director for Social and Behavioral Sciences (and Education) at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (1997). Dr. Chubin has served on the faculty of four universities, including Georgia Tech, where he was promoted to full professor. He has published eight books and numerous reports on issues in science policy, human resource development, program evaluation, and engineering education. Among Dr. Chubin’s honors are: AAAS Fellow, Past Chair of the AAAS section on Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering, Fellow of the Association for Women in Science, member of the National Academy of Engineering Committee on Diversity in the Engineering Workforce (as well as four other NRC committees), Integrator for BEST (Building Engineering and Science Talent), and co-recipient of the American Society of Engineering Education Wickenden Award for best paper published in the 2003 volume of The Journal of Engineering Education, Quality Education for Minorities/MSE 2006 Giant of Science, and Sigma Xi Distinguished Lecturer 2007-2009. Dr. Chubin earned his Ph.D. in sociology from Loyola University (Chicago) in 1973.

MARY E. CLUTTER is the former assistant director of the NSF where she was responsible for the Biological Sciences Directorate. Dr. Clutter has also served as the U.S. Chair of the U.S.-European Commission Task Force on Biotechnology and has been a member of the Board of Trustees of the International Human Frontiers Science Program, the Board of Regents of the National Library of Medicine, and the National Agricultural Research, Extension, Education and Economics Advisory Board. She served as chair of the Biotechnology Subcommittee of the Committee on Science of the National Science and Technology Council (NSTC), co-chair of the Subcommittee on Ecological Systems of the Committee on Environment and Natural Resources/NSTC and co-chair of the NSTC Committee on Science’s Interagency Working Group on Plant Genomes. Dr. Clutter is a member of numerous professional societies and has served on the Board of Directors of the AAAS. She is a Fellow of the AAAS as well as of the Association for Women in Science. She is currently a member of the NRC’s Policy and Global Affairs Committee. Dr. Clutter received her B.S. in

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement