Appendix B
Convocation Participants


Richard C. Atkinson

President Emeritus

University of California

San Diego, CA

Holly Harris Bane

Associate Vice President for Strategic Initiatives and Engagement

University of Akron

Akron, OH

Thomas Bowles

Science Advisor to New Mexico Governor Bill Richardson

New Mexico Governor’s Office

Santa Fe, NM

Jay Cole

Education Advisor to West Virginia Governor Joe Manchin III

Charleston, WV

Marla Cone

Environmental Writer

Los Angeles Times

Los Angeles, CA

Edward Derrick

Director, AAAS Research Competitiveness Program

American Association for the Advancement of Science

Washington, DC

Kenneth Fulton

Executive Director

National Academy of Sciences

Washington, DC

Susan Hackwood

Executive Director

California Council on Science & Technology

Riverside, CA

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 62
Appendix B Convocation Participants PRESENTERS AND FACILITATORS Richard C. Atkinson Marla Cone President Emeritus Environmental Writer University of California Los Angeles Times San Diego, CA Los Angeles, CA Holly Harris Bane Edward Derrick Associate Vice President for Director, AAAS Research Strategic Initiatives and Competitiveness Program Engagement American Association for the University of Akron Advancement of Science Akron, OH Washington, DC Thomas Bowles Kenneth Fulton Science Advisor to New Mexico Executive Director Governor Bill Richardson National Academy of Sciences New Mexico Governor’s Office Washington, DC Santa Fe, NM Susan Hackwood Jay Cole Executive Director Education Advisor to West California Council on Science & Virginia Governor Joe Technology Manchin III Riverside, CA Charleston, WV 

OCR for page 62
 APPENDIX B William Hammack Matthew C. Nisbet University of Illinois Assistant Professor Department of Chemical and School of Communication Biomolecular Engineering American University Urbana, IL Washington, DC William C. Harris Gerry O’Keefe President and CEO Columbia River Policy Science Foundation Arizona Coordinator Phoenix, AZ Washington State Department of Ecology Doug Henton Olympia, WA President & CEO Collaborative Economics Len Peters Mountain View, CA Vice President Battelle Memorial Institute John McDonald Columbus, OH President Stone’s Throw Strategic Karl Pister Communications Chairman of the Board Manhattan Beach, CA California Council on Science and Technology Larry McKinney Berkeley, CA Director of Coastal Fisheries Texas Parks and Wildlife Matt Sundeen Department Program Principal Austin, TX National Conference of State Legislatures Warren Muir Denver, CO Executive Director Division on Earth and Life Studies Honorable John Unger National Research Council State Senator Washington, DC West Virginia State Senate Martinsburg, WV PLANNING COMMITTEE Lynn Elfner Jay Cole Chief Executive Officer Education Policy Advisor The Ohio Academy of Science Office of the Governor Columbus, OH Charleston, WV

OCR for page 62
4 APPENDIX B Donna Gerardi Riordan Jay Labov Director of Programs Senior Advisor for Education and California Council on Science and Communication Technology National Academy of Sciences Capitola, CA Washington, DC Nancy Huddleston Karl Pister Senior Communications Officer Chairman of the Board Division on Earth and Life Studies California Council on Science and National Research Council Technology Washington, DC Berkeley, CA PARTICIPANTS Bruce Alberts Matthew Case Department of Biochemistry and Graduate Student Biophysics Goldman School of Public Policy University of California University of California San Francisco, CA Berkeley, CA Lee Allison Elizabeth Chornesky State Geologist and Director Analyst, Independent Consultant Arizona Geological Survey Carmel, CA Tucson, AZ Janet DeMint Jameel Alsalam Distinctive Voices Program Student Administrator University of California National Academy of Sciences Berkeley, CA Irvine, CA John Burch Jim Earthman Investor Associate Vice Chancellor for Ergosyst Associates, Inc. Research Lawrence, KS University of California Irvine, CA Richard Canino Researcher Jenny Gautier New Energy and Industrial Program Coordinator Technology Development University of California Organization Office of the President Washington, DC Oakland, CA

OCR for page 62
 APPENDIX B Phil Geis Craig Johnson Scientist Executive Director Ohio Academy of Science Iowa Academy of Science Cincinnati, OH Cedar Falls, IA M.R.C. Greenwood Scott Jordan Chancellor Emerita, University of Department of Computer Science California, Santa Cruz University of California University of California Irvine, CA Davis, CA Lee Langston Edward Haddad Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Executive Director Engineering Florida Academy of Sciences University of Connecticut Orlando, FL Storrs, CT Holly Harris Bane Annzell Loufas Associate Vice President for Director, Sacramento Office Strategic Initiatives and California Council on Science & Engagement Technology University of Akron Sacramento, CA Akron, OH Charles Lytle Mary Haskins President, North Carolina Executive Director Academy of Science and Missouri Academy of Science Professor, Zoology Kansas City, MO North Carolina State University Biology Outreach Programs Paul Hill Raleigh, NC Program Director West Virginia EPSCoR Amber Mace Charleston, WV Executive Director California Ocean Science Trust James Hoehn Oakland, CA Senior Associate EPSCoR/IDeA Foundation Cathie Magowan Santa Monica, CA Director, Science, Engineering, and Technology Research Paul Jennings Programs Professor of Civil Engineering and University of California Office of Applied Mechanics the President California Institute of Technology Oakland, CA Pasadena, CA

OCR for page 62
 APPENDIX B Lora Lee Martin George Scalise Director, Special Projects President University of California Semiconductor Industry Santa Cruz, CA Association San Jose, CA Tunyalee Martin Multicampus Research Program Karen Scott Coordinator Government Relations University of California Sandia National Laboratories Office of the President Livermore, CA Oakland, CA Kjell Sehlstedt Robert (Bob) McMahan Researcher State Science and Technology Swedish Association of Graduate Advisor Engineers State of North Carolina Swedish Office of Science & Raleigh, NC Technology Los Angeles, CA Jennifer Mendez Manager, Governmental Issues Kelly Sullivan Carpet and Rug Institute Director, Institutional Partnerships Arlington, VA Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Robin Newmark Richland, WA External Relations, Global Security Lawrence Livermore National Veronica Villalobos Laboratory Director, State Government Livermore, CA Relations University of Southern California Steve Olson Sacramento, CA Writer Bethesda, MD Michele Wheatly Dean Arthur Pontau Wright State University Senior Manager Dayton, OH Materials and Energy Sciences Sandia National Laboratories Kip Wiley Livermore, CA Deputy Director Senate Office of Research R. Sean Randolph State of California President and CEO Sacramento, CA Bay Area Economic Forum San Francisco, CA

OCR for page 62
 APPENDIX B Gareth Wynn-Williams Stephen Young Professor of Astronomy Instructor Institute for Astronomy Morningside High School Hawaii Academy of Science Inglewood, CA Honolulu, HI

OCR for page 62