U.S. leadership in advanced computing and communications technologies and their applications. In 1998, Mr. Benhamou was recognized by former Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu with the Foreign Investor Jubilee Award. That same year, Mr. Benhamou received the Ellis Island Medal of Honor, which pays homage to the immigrant experience, as well as to individual achievements of U.S. citizens from various ethnic backgrounds. In 1998, he became a fellow of the International Engineering Consortium. He is a graduate of the American Leadership Forum, which seeks to revitalize leadership within communities across the nation. In 1997, Mr. Benhamou received the Medaille Nessim Habif from Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Arts et Métiers, Paris. In 1992, he received the President’s Environment and Conservation Challenge Award, the United States’ highest environmental award. Mr. Benhamou currently serves as chairman of the board of Cypress Semiconductor, as lead director of RealNetworks, Inc., and Voltaire, and as a member of the board of directors of Silicon Valley Bancshares. He serves on the board of directors of privately held companies, Contextream, Finjan, and Purewave Networks. He served on the board of the New America Foundation, a Washington, D.C.-based think tank until December 2007. Mr. Benhamou serves on the executive committee of TechNet. He was a member of the Computer Science and Telecommunications Board (CSTB) and is a member of the Markle Task Force on Information Security. In addition, he serves on the boards of the INSEAD School of Business, the Stanford University School of Engineering, and Ben Gurion University of the Negev. He is the chairman of the Israel Venture Network, a venture philanthropy organization for a stronger Israeli society. Mr. Benhamou holds honorary doctoral degrees from Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Widener University, Western Governors University, and the University of South Carolina. He has a Master of Science degree from Stanford University’s School of Engineering and a Diplôme d’Ingénieur from Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Arts et Métiers, Paris.

Randy H. Katz, Co-Chair, (NAE), is the United Microelectronics Corporation Distinguished Professor, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department, University of California, Berkeley. He joined the Berkeley faculty in 1983, where since 1996 he has been the United Microelectronics Corporation Distinguished Professor in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. He is a fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the IEEE, and a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has published more than 250 refereed technical papers, book chapters, and books. His textbook, Contemporary Logic Design, has sold more than 85,000 copies and has been used at more than 200 colleges and universities. A

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement