Science and Solar System Exploration Division, JSC project scientist for the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer, deputy director of the JSC Public Affairs Office, and assistant director of the Space Life and Life Sciences Directorate. Dr. Blanchard is the recipient of the 1983 NASA Group Achievement Award for Planetary Materials Curation and the 1997 NASA Outstanding Leadership Medal.

ROBERT D. BRAUN is the David and Andrew Lewis Associate Professor of Space Technology in the Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech). As director of Georgia Tech’s Space Systems Design Laboratory, he leads a research and education program focused on the design of advanced flight systems and technologies for planetary exploration. Prior to joining the Georgia Tech faculty, Dr. Braun was on the technical staff of the NASA Langley Research Center. While at NASA he contributed to the design and flight operations of the Mars Pathfinder and Mars Microprobe flight projects, performing analyses pertaining to Mars entry, descent, and landing. Dr. Braun has received the 1999 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Lawrence Sperry Award, two NASA Exceptional Achievement Medals, and seven NASA Group Achievement Awards. Dr. Braun is an AIAA fellow and the author or co-author of more than 150 technical publications in the fields of atmospheric flight dynamics, planetary exploration systems, multidisciplinary design optimization, and systems engineering.

BERNARD F. BURKE is the William A.M. Burden Professor of Astrophysics, emeritus, at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). He is also a principal investigator at the MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research. His research career has covered a wide range of activities, including the co-discovery of Jupiter radio bursts and the discovery of the first “Einstein Ring,” a manifestation of the warping of space-time by matter that was predicted by Albert Einstein in his general theory of relativity. Dr. Burke was president of the AAS (1986-1988) and served as a member of the National Science Board (1990-1996). He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), and the recipient of the NASA Group Achievement Award for Very-Long-Baseline Interferometry. Dr. Burke has served on numerous NRC committees, including the U.S. National Committee for the International Astronomical Union and the International Space Year Planning Committee. He currently serves on the Committee to Assess Solar System Exploration.

ALAN DELAMERE is a retired senior engineer and program manager at Ball Aerospace and Technology Corporation. He is currently involved as co-investigator on the Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter (MRO) High Resolution Imaging Science Instrument (HIRISE) and on the Deep Impact mission to Comet Tempel 1. Mr. Delamere has been involved in the Mars program since the 1980s. His expertise focuses on instrument building and mission design. He was a member of the NRC Committee on Preventing the Forward Contamination of Mars.

ROSALY M. LOPES is a principal scientist at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, where she is also the group supervisor for Geophysics and Planetary Geosciences. Her expertise is in planetary geology and volcanology. Her current research involves analysis of geologic features on Titan using the Cassini Radar Mapper, with specific emphasis on cryovolcanic features. Dr. Lopes joined JPL in 1979 to pursue planetary studies and work on flight projects. At JPL, she joined the Galileo Flight Project as part of the science team for the Near Infrared Mapping Spectrometer (NIMS), one of the major instruments in the spacecraft. She was responsible for planning all of the observations of Jupiter’s volcanic moon Io using NIMS, leading the data analysis and the collaborations with other teams. She is currently investigation scientist for the radar instrument on Cassini. Dr. Lopes is a fellow of the AAAS and has been awarded the Carl Sagan Medal from the AAS and the NASA Exceptional Service Medal.

STEPHEN MACKWELL is the director of the Lunar and Planetary Institute. Prior to his 2002 appointment to the Lunar and Planetary Institute, Dr. Mackwell served as the director of the Bayerisches Geoinstitut at the University of Bayreuth, Germany. Under his guidance, the Geoinstitut strengthened its position as one of the preeminent experimental geosciences facilities in the world, and broadened its research programs to more fully address deep-Earth issues. Dr. Mackwell has served or is serving as program director for geophysics at the National Science

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement