MARK A. BROSMER is general manager of the Launch and Satellite Control Division at Aerospace Corporation, where he is responsible for Aerospace’s support to the Air Force Satellite Control Network and Spacelift Range. He is responsible for launch operations at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station and the Vandenberg Air Force Base. He joined Aerospace Corporation in 1985 as a member of the technical staff in the Thermal Control Department of the Engineering and Technology Group. He transferred to the Fluid Mechanics Department in 1987. He has since held several positions, including manager of the Launch Vehicle Thermal Department, Engineering and Technology Group and project engineer for the system integration and launch readiness of the Titan IV Solid Rocket Motor Upgrade. He joined the Evolved Expendable Launch Vehicle (EELV) Program in 1996 as a senior project engineer, serving as Aerospace’s IPT lead for systems engineering and integration for the Delta IV launch system. In 1998 he was promoted to systems director for Delta IV development, and in 2001 he was promoted to principal director of Delta IV. While supporting the EELV Program, he provided technical leadership from the early development phase and source selection process through the eight inaugural launches of the Delta IV, including the first operational launches of the medium-, intermediate-, and heavy-lift configurations.

JOSEPH BURNS is the Irving Porter Church Professor of Engineering, professor of astronomy, and vice provost for physical sciences and engineering at Cornell University. He is heavily involved with the imaging team on the Cassini mission around Saturn. Dr. Burns’s current research concerns planetary rings and the small bodies of the solar system (dust, satellites, comets, and asteroids). He is the president of the International Astronomical Union’s (IAU’s) commission on celestial mechanics and dynamical astronomy. Dr. Burns is a fellow of the AGU and the AAAS, a member of the International Academy of Astronautics, and a foreign member of the Russian Academy of Sciences. In 1994 he received the DPS’s Masursky Prize. Dr. Burns previously served as a member of the NRC Committee on a New Science Strategy for Solar System Exploration.

CYNTHIA CATTELL is a professor of physics in the School of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Minnesota. She is a fellow of the AGU. She is an author on more than 130 refereed journal articles and a co-author of the Auroral Plasma Physics book (ISSI). She is a co-investigator on Polar, Cluster, FAST, STEREO, and RBSP and a principal investigator on the AMPS mission study. She has been a member of various advisory committees, including the NRC Committee on Solar Terrestrial Research, the NRC Plasma Sciences Committee, the NASA Sun-Earth-Connection Advisory Subcommittee, and the SSSC Roadmap Committee. She was the chair of the 2003 NASA Plasma Sails Working Group and a member of the Advisory Committee to the UCLA Basic Plasma Science Facility. She has also served on the science definition teams for a number of missions, including the Mercury Dual Orbiter and the Grand Tour Cluster. She is a member of the Physics Force, a team performing large-scale “physics circus” shows for K-12 schools and the general public throughout Minnesota and the upper Midwest.

ALAN DELAMERE is a retired senior engineer and program manager at Ball Aerospace and Technology Corporation. He is currently involved as co-investigator on the Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter High Resolution Imaging Science Instrument and on the Deep Impact mission to Comet Tempel 1. Mr. Delamere has been involved in the Mars program since the 1980s. His expertise focuses on instrument building and mission design. He was a member of the NRC Committee on Preventing the Forward Contamination of Mars and the Committee on New Opportunities in Solar System Exploration.

MARGARET FINARELLI is a senior fellow in the Center for Aerospace Policy Research at George Mason University (GMU). Ms. Finarelli’s earlier career with NASA and other U.S. government agencies focused on strategy development and negotiations in the fields of domestic space policy and international relations in science and technology. At NASA, she served as associate administrator for policy coordination and international relations. She was responsible for developing the international partnerships in the International Space Station program, and she led the U.S. team conducting the international negotiations that resulted in the agreements governing NASA’s cooperation with Europe,

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement