Click for next page ( 98

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 97
Space Weather: Membership Space Weather: A Research Perspective Membership COMMITTEE ON SOLAR AND SPACE PHYSICS JANET G. LUHMANN, University of California, Berkeley, Chair SPIRO K. ANTIOCHOS, Naval Research Laboratory JANET U. KOZYRA, University of Michigan ROBERT P. LIN, University of California, Berkeley DONALD G. MITCHELL, Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory ARTHUR D. RICHMOND, National Center for Atmospheric Research HARLAN E. SPENCE, Boston University MICHELLE F. THOMSEN, Los Alamos National Laboratory ROGER K. ULRICH, University of California, Los Angeles ARTHUR A. CHARO, Senior Program Officer CARMELA J. CHAMBERLAIN, Senior Program Assistant COMMITTEE ON SOLAR-TERRESTRIAL RESEARCH MARVIN A. GELLER, State University of New York at Stony Brook, Chair GUY P. BRASSEUR, National Center for Atmospheric Research JOHN V. EVANS, COMSAT Laboratories PAUL A. EVENSON, University of Delaware JOSEPH F. FENNELL, The Aerospace Corporation JOHN T. GOSLING, Los Alamos National Laboratory SHADIA RIFAI HABBAL, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics MARY K. HUDSON, Dartmouth College GORDON HURFORD, California Institute of Technology file:///S|/SSB/1swMembers.htm (1 of 5) [6/25/2003 4:40:17 PM]

OCR for page 97
Space Weather: Membership H. FRANK EDEN, Senior Program Officer DORIS BOUADJEMI, Administrative Assistant SPACE STUDIES BOARD CLAUDE R. CANIZARES, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Chair MARK R. ABBOTT, Oregon State University JOHN A. ARMSTRONG,* IBM Corporation (retired) JAMES P. BAGIAN, Environmental Protection Agency DANIEL N. BAKER, University of Colorado LAWRENCE BOGORAD, Harvard University DONALD E. BROWNLEE, University of Washington JOHN J. DONEGAN, John Donegan Associates, Inc. GERARD W. ELVERUM, JR., TRW Space and Technology Group (retired) ANTHONY W. ENGLAND, University of Michigan DANIEL J. FINK,* D.J. Fink and Associates, Inc. MARTIN E. GLICKSMAN, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute RONALD GREELEY, Arizona State University BILL GREEN, former member, U.S. House of Representatives NOEL W. HINNERS,* Lockheed Martin Astronautics ANDREW H. KNOLL, Harvard University JANET G. LUHMANN, University of California, Berkeley JOHN H. MCELROY,* University of Texas, Arlington ROBERTA BALSTAD MILLER, CIESIN BERRIEN MOORE III, University of New Hampshire KENNETH H. NEALSON, University of Wisconsin MARY JANE OSBORN, University of Connecticut Health Center SIMON OSTRACH, Case Western Reserve University MORTON B. PANISH, AT&T Bell Laboratories (retired) CARLÉ M. PIETERS, Brown University MARCIA J. RIEKE, University of Arizona JOHN A. SIMPSON, University of Chicago ROBERT E. WILLIAMS, Space Telescope Science Institute MARC S. ALLEN, Director file:///S|/SSB/1swMembers.htm (2 of 5) [6/25/2003 4:40:17 PM]

OCR for page 97
Space Weather: Membership *Former Member. BOARD ON ATMOSPHERIC SCIENCES AND CLIMATE JOHN A. DUTTON, Pennsylvania State University, Chair ERIC J. BARRON, Pennsylvania State University WILLIAM L. CHAMEIDES, Georgia Institute of Technology CRAIG E. DORMAN, Department of Defense FRANCO EINAUDI, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center MARVIN A. GELLER, State University of New York, Stony Brook PETER V. HOBBS, University of Washington WITOLD F. KRAJEWSKI, The University of Iowa MARGARET A. LEMONE, National Center for Atmospheric Research DOUGLAS K. LILLY, University of Oklahoma RICHARD S. LINDZEN, Massachusetts Institute of Technology GERALD R. NORTH, Texas A&M University EUGENE M. RASMUSSON, University of Maryland ROBERT J. SERAFIN, National Center for Atmospheric Research WILLIAM A. SPRIGG, Director COMMISSION ON PHYSICAL SCIENCES, MATHEMATICS, AND APPLICATIONS ROBERT J. HERMANN, United Technologies Corporation, Co- chair W. CARL LINEBERGER, University of Colorado, Co-chair PETER M. BANKS, Environmental Research Institute of Michigan LAWRENCE D. BROWN, University of Pennsylvania file:///S|/SSB/1swMembers.htm (3 of 5) [6/25/2003 4:40:17 PM]

OCR for page 97
Space Weather: Membership RONALD G. DOUGLAS, Texas A&M University JOHN E. ESTES, University of California, Santa Barbara L. LOUIS HEGEDUS, W.R. Grace and Co. JOHN E. HOPCROFT, Cornell University RHONDA J. HUGHES, Bryn Mawr College SHIRLEY A. JACKSON, Rutgers University KENNETH H. KELLER, Council on Foreign Relations KENNETH I. KELLERMANN, National Radio Astronomy Observatory KEN KENNEDY, Rice University MARGARET G. KIVELSON, University of California, Los Angeles DANIEL KLEPPNER, Massachusetts Institute of Technology JOHN KREICK, Sanders, A Lockheed Martin Company MARSHA I. LESTER, University of Pennsylvania THOMAS A. PRINCE, California Institute of Technology NICHOLAS P. SAMIOS, Brookhaven National Laboratory L.E. SCRIVEN, University of Minnesota SHMUEL WINOGRAD, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center CHARLES A. ZRAKET, The MITRE Corporation NORMAN METZGER, Executive Director COMMISSION ON GEOSCIENCES, ENVIRONMENT, AND RESOURCES M. GORDON WOLMAN, Johns Hopkins University, Chair PATRICK R. ATKINS, Aluminum Company of America JAMES P. BRUCE, Canadian Climate Program Board WILLIAM L. FISHER, University of Texas, Austin JERRY F. FRANKLIN, University of Washington GEORGE M. HORNBERGER, University of Virginia DEBRA KNOPMAN, Progressive Foundation PERRY L. MCCARTY, Stanford University JUDITH E. MCDOWELL, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution S. GEORGE PHILANDER, Princeton University RAYMOND A. PRICE, Queen's University, Kingston THOMAS C. SCHELLING, University of Maryland file:///S|/SSB/1swMembers.htm (4 of 5) [6/25/2003 4:40:17 PM]

OCR for page 97
Space Weather: Membership ELLEN SILBERGELD, University of Maryland Medical School STEVEN M. STANLEY, Johns Hopkins University VICTORIA J. TSCHINKEL, Landers and Parsons STEPHEN RATTIEN, Executive Director Current Projects Publications Directories Search Site Map Feedback file:///S|/SSB/1swMembers.htm (5 of 5) [6/25/2003 4:40:17 PM]