Click for next page ( 151

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 150
Microgravity Research Opportunities for the 1990s: Appendix B Microgravity Research Opportunities for the 1990s B Biographies of Committee Members William A. Sirignano, Chair (1991-1994). Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, University of California, Irvine. Ph.D., Aerospace Engineering, Princeton University, 1964. Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), and American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Previously served on NASA Space Science and Applications Advisory Committee, AIAA Solid Rockets Technical Committee, AIAA Propellants and Combustion Technical Committee, University Space Research Association (USRA) Microgravity Science Council, and the Combustion Institute Executive Committee and Board of Directors. Research interests: spray combustion, turbulent combustion, ignition, aerospace propulsion, automotive combustion, energy conservation and pollution, fire research, noise suppression, and applied mathematics. REPORT MENU Rosalia N. Andrews. Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, University NOTICE of Alabama at Birmingham. Ph.D., University of Florida, 1976. Coinvestigator on MEMBERSHIP USML-1 and USML-2 HgZnTe crystal growth experiments. Member, Executive PREFACE Committee of the American Crystal Growth Association. Research interests: EXECUTIVE SUMMARY bulk growth and characterization of group II-VI semiconducting compounds. PART I CHAPTER 1 CHAPTER 2 Howard M. Einspahr. Research Fellow and Director, Macromolecular PART II Crystallography, Bristol-Myers Squibb Company. Ph.D., Chemistry, University of CHAPTER 3 Pennsylvania, 1970. Previously served on NASA Advanced Protein Crystal CHAPTER 4 Growth Advisory Committee. Research interests: protein structure, drug design. CHAPTER 5 CHAPTER 6 Martin E. Glicksman, Chair (1994-1997). Professor of Materials Science, CHAPTER 7 Department of Materials Engineering, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Ph.D., PART III Physical Metallurgy, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 1961. Principal investigator CHAPTER 8 for Isothermal Dendritic Growth Experiments on USMP-2 (March 1994). APPENDIX A Research interests: solidification and crystal growth of metals and alloys, APPENDIX B surface energy studies, defects and diffusion in metals, thermodynamics of stressed systems, interfacial phenomena in metals, metallurgy of superconductors. file:///C|/SSB_old_web/mgoppappendb.htm (1 of 4) [6/18/2004 11:18:58 AM]

OCR for page 150
Microgravity Research Opportunities for the 1990s: Appendix B Franklin D. Lemkey. United Technologies Research Center. Ph.D., Metal Physics, Oxford University. Fellow of the American Society for Metallurgists (ASM). Chair, Editorial Review Board of Metallurgical Transactions. Previously, Director of NASA Microgravity Science and Applications Division (1989) and Chair of NASA's Space Station Science and Applications Users Committee (1988). Currently serves on the National Research Council (NRC) Space Station Committee of the Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board. Research interests: collaborative research and development activities with the new independent states of the former Soviet Union. Ronald E. Loehman. Manager, Advanced Materials Laboratory, Sandia National Laboratories. Ph.D., Solid State Chemistry, Purdue University, 1969. Fellow, American Ceramic Society. Associate editor of the Journal of the American Ceramic Society. Research interests: glass-metal and ceramic-metal reactions and interface bonding, preparation and properties of nitrogen ceramics and glasses, electrical and thermal behavior of ceramics and glasses. Alexander McPherson. Professor of Biochemistry, University of California, Riverside. Ph.D., Biological Sciences, Purdue University, 1970. Principal investigator for protein crystal growth (PCG) experiments on IML-1, IML-2, U.S.- Russian Mir-Shuttle Mission. Research interests: analysis and determination of the atomic structures of biological macromolecules by x-ray diffraction techniques and their correlation with mechanistic properties. Simon Ostrach. Professor of Engineering, Case Western Reserve University. Ph.D., Applied Mathematics, Brown University, 1950. Member, National Academy of Engineering (NAE; currently Home Secretary); Fellow of the American Academy of Mechanics, AIAA; Honorary Member of the ASME. Research interests: fluid mechanics, natural convection, transport phenomena in industrial processes, physiochemical fluid dynamics. Morton B. Panish. AT&T Bell Laboratories (retired). Ph.D., Physical Chemistry, 1954. Previously, Head of the AT&T Bell Laboratories Material Science Research Department. Member, NAE and National Academy of Sciences (NAS). Fellow of the American Physical Society and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Research interests: group III-V compound phase chemistry, impurity incorporation, epitaxy, device structures. John D. Reppy. Professor of Physics, Cornell University. Ph.D., Physics, Yale University, 1961. Member NAS; Fellow of the American Physical Society, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, New York Academy of Sciences, and AAAS. Research interests: low-temperature physics, quantum properties of superconductors and superfluid helium, cooperative and critical phenomena. Warren C. Strahle (deceased). Regents Professor, School of Aerospace Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology. Ph.D., Aerospace Engineering, Princeton University, 1964. Fellow AIAA. Previously served on the NASA Microgravity Combustion Discipline Working Group; AIAA Aeroacoustics file:///C|/SSB_old_web/mgoppappendb.htm (2 of 4) [6/18/2004 11:18:58 AM]

OCR for page 150
Microgravity Research Opportunities for the 1990s: Appendix B Technical Committee, Solid Rockets Committee, Propellants and Combustion Committee. Associate editor of the AIAA Journal. Research interests: liquid and solid rocket combustion stability, thrust vector control, external and supersonic combustion, tactical and strategic missile preliminary design, ramjet combustion stability, combustion noise, diesel engine noise, underwater explosions, and turbulent reacting flows. Julia R. Weertman. Professor, Materials Science and Engineering, Northwestern University. Ph.D., Carnegie Institute of Technology (now Carnegie Mellon University), 1951. Member NAE; Fellow of the ASM International and of the Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society. Research interests: mechanical behavior of metals and alloys, especially nanostructured materials, structural characterization. Last update 4/13/00 at 12:42 pm Site managed by Anne Simmons, Space Studies Board file:///C|/SSB_old_web/mgoppappendb.htm (3 of 4) [6/18/2004 11:18:58 AM]