Click for next page ( 8

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 7
Microgravity Research Opportunities for the 1990s: Membership Microgravity Research Opportunities for the 1990s Membership COMMITTEE ON MICROGRAVITY RESEARCH WILLIAM A. SIRIGNANO,* University of California, Irvine, Chair ROSALIA N. ANDREWS,* University of Alabama, Birmingham HOWARD M. EINSPAHR, Bristol Myers Squibb Company MARTIN E. GLICKSMAN, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute FRANKLIN D. LEMKEY,* United Technologies Research Center RONALD E. LOEHMAN, Sandia Laboratories ALEXANDER McPHERSON,* University of California, Riverside SIMON OSTRACH,* Case Western Reserve University MORTON B. PANISH, AT&T Bell Laboratories (retired) JOHN D. REPPY, Cornell University WARREN C. STRAHLE,* Georgia Institute of Technology (deceased) JULIA WEERTMAN,* Northwestern University REPORT MENU NOTICE RICHARD C. HART, Senior Program Officer MEMBERSHIP SANDRA J. GRAHAM, Senior Program Officer PREFACE CARMELA J. CHAMBERLAIN, Senior Program Assistant EXECUTIVE SUMMARY VICTORIA P. FRIEDENSEN, Senior Program Assistant PART I CHAPTER 1 CHAPTER 2 PART II _____________________ CHAPTER 3 * Former member CHAPTER 4 CHAPTER 5 CHAPTER 6 CHAPTER 7 PART III SPACE STUDIES BOARD CHAPTER 8 APPENDIX A CLAUDE R. CANIZARES, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Chair APPENDIX B LOUIS J. LANZEROTTI,* AT&T Bell Laboratories, Chair JOHN A. ARMSTRONG, IBM Corporation (retired) JOSEPH A. BURNS, Cornell University JOHN J. DONEGAN, U.S. Navy (retired) file:///C|/SSB_old_web/mgoppmem.htm (1 of 4) [6/18/2004 11:14:50 AM]

OCR for page 7
Microgravity Research Opportunities for the 1990s: Membership JOHN A. DUTTON,* Pennsylvania State University ANTHONY W. ENGLAND, University of Michigan JAMES P. FERRIS,* Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute DANIEL J. FINK, D.J. Fink and Associates, Inc. HERBERT FRIEDMAN,* Naval Research Laboratory MARTIN E. GLICKSMAN, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute HAROLD J. GUY, University of California, San Diego NOEL W. HINNERS, Martin Marietta Astronautics Company ROBERT A. LAUDISE, AT&T Bell Laboratories RICHARD S. LINDZEN,* Massachusetts Institute of Technology JANET G. LUHMANN, University of California, Berkeley JOHN H. McELROY, University of Texas, Arlington WILLIAM J. MERRELL, JR.,* Texas A&M University NORMAN F. NESS,* University of Delaware MARCIA NEUGEBAUER, Jet Propulsion Laboratory MARY JANE OSBORN, University of Connecticut Health Center SIMON OSTRACH, Case Western Reserve University JEREMIAH P. OSTRIKER, Princeton University CARLÉ M. PIETERS, Brown University JUDITH PIPHER, University of Rochester MARCIA J. RIEKE, University of Arizona ROLAND W. SCHMITT, Clifton, New Jersey WILLIAM A. SIRIGNANO,* University of California, Irvine JOHN W. TOWNSEND,* NASA (retired) FRED W. TUREK,* Northwestern University ARTHUR B.C. WALKER, JR., Stanford University MARC S. ALLEN, Director __________________ * Former member COMMISSION ON PHYSICAL SCIENCES, MATHEMATICS, AND APPLICATIONS RICHARD N. ZARE, Stanford University, Chair RICHARD S. NICHOLSON, American Association for the Advancement of Science, Vice Chair STEPHEN L. ADLER, Institute for Advanced Study SYLVIA T. CEYER, Massachusetts Institute of Technology SUSAN L. GRAHAM, University of California, Berkeley ROBERT J. HERMANN, United Technologies Corporation RHONDA J. HUGHES, Bryn Mawr College SHIRLEY A. JACKSON, Rutgers University KENNETH I. KELLERMANN, National Radio Astronomy Observatory HANS MARK, University of Texas, Austin file:///C|/SSB_old_web/mgoppmem.htm (2 of 4) [6/18/2004 11:14:50 AM]

OCR for page 7
Microgravity Research Opportunities for the 1990s: Membership THOMAS A. PRINCE, California Institute of Technology JEROME SACKS, National Institute of Statistical Sciences L.E. SCRIVEN, University of Minnesota A. RICHARD SEEBASS III, University of Colorado LEON T. SILVER, California Institute of Technology CHARLES P. SLICHTER, University of Illinois ALVIN W. TRIVELPIECE, Oak Ridge National Laboratory SHMUEL WINOGRAD, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center CHARLES A. ZRAKET, MITRE Corporation (retired) NORMAN METZGER, Executive Director Last update 4/12/00 at 2:52 pm Site managed by Anne Simmons, Space Studies Board file:///C|/SSB_old_web/mgoppmem.htm (3 of 4) [6/18/2004 11:14:50 AM]