Click for next page ( 6

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 5
A Science Strategy for Space Physics: Membership A Science Strategy for Space Physics Membership COMMITTEE ON SOLAR AND SPACE PHYSICS MARCIA NEUGEBAUER,* Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Chair JANET G. LUHMANN, University of California, Berkeley, Successor Chair SPIRO ANTIOCHOS, Naval Research Laboratory JANET U. KOZYRA, University of Michigan DONALD G. MITCHELL, Applied Physics Laboratory JONATHAN F. ORMES,* Goddard Space Flight Center GEORGE K. PARKS,* University of Washington DOUGLAS RABIN,* National Optical Astronomy Observatory ARTHUR D. RICHMOND, National Center for Atmospheric Research HARLAN SPENCE, Boston University MICHELLE F. THOMSEN, Los Alamos National Laboratory ROGER K. ULRICH, University of California, Los Angeles RONALD D. ZWICKL,* National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration REPORT MENU NOTICE Staff MEMBERSHIP RICHARD C. HART, Executive Secretary SUMMARY DAVID H. SMITH, Continuing Executive Secretary PART I CARMELA CHAMBERLAIN, Senior Program Assistant PART II ALTORIA B. ROSS, Continuing Senior Program Assistant CHAPTER 1 ERIN C. HATCH, Research Assistant CHAPTER 2 CHAPTER 3 CHAPTER 4 _______________________ CHAPTER 5 *Term expired in 1994. PART III APPENDIX COMMITTEE ON SOLAR-TERRESTRIAL RESEARCH MARVIN A. GELLER, State University of New York, Chair GUY P. BRASSEUR, National Center for Atmospheric Research CYNTHIA A. CATTELL, University of Minnesota JOHN V. EVANS, COMSAT Laboratories file:///C|/SSB_old_web/stramem.html (1 of 5) [6/18/2004 2:17:48 PM]

OCR for page 5
A Science Strategy for Space Physics: Membership PAUL A. EVENSON, University of Delaware JOSEPH F. FENNELL, The Aerospace Corporation JOHN T. GOSLING, Los Alamos National Laboratory SHADIA RIFAI HABBAL, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics GORDON HURFORD, California Institute of Technology DAVID J. McCOMAS,* Los Alamos National Laboratory JAMES F. VICKREY,* SRI International ________________________ *Term expired in 1994. SPACE STUDIES BOARD CLAUDE R. CANIZARES, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Chair LOUIS J. LANZEROTTI,* AT&T Bell Laboratories, Former Chair JOHN A. ARMSTRONG, IBM Corporation (retired) LAWRENCE BOGORAD, Harvard University JOSEPH A. BURNS,** Cornell University JOHN J. DONEGAN, U.S. Navy (retired) ANTHONY W. ENGLAND,** University of Michigan JAMES P. FERRIS,* Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute DANIEL J. FINK, D.J. Fink Associates, Inc. HERBERT FRIEDMAN,* Naval Research Laboratory MARTIN E. GLICKSMAN, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute RONALD GREELEY, Arizona State University BILL GREEN, former member, U.S. House of Representatives HAROLD J. GUY,** University of California, San Diego NOEL W. HINNERS, Lockheed Martin Astronautics ROBERT A. LAUDISE,* AT&T Bell Laboratories RICHARD S. LINDZEN,* Massachusetts Institute of Technology JANET G. LUHMANN, University of California, Berkeley JOHN H. McELROY, University of Texas, Arlington WILLIAM J. MERRELL, JR.,* Texas A&M University ROBERTA BALSTAD MILLER, Consortium for International Earth Sciences Information Network BERRIEN MOORE III, University of New Hampshire NORMAN F. NESS,* University of Delaware MARCIA NEUGEBAUER,* Jet Propulsion Laboratory MARY JANE OSBORN, University of Connecticut Health Center SIMON OSTRACH, Case Western Reserve University JEREMIAH P. OSTRIKER,* Princeton University CARLÉ M. PIETERS, Brown University JUDITH PIPHER,** University of Rochester MARCIA J. RIEKE, University of Arizona ROLAND SCHMITT, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (retired) JOHN A. SIMPSON, University of Chicago file:///C|/SSB_old_web/stramem.html (2 of 5) [6/18/2004 2:17:48 PM]

OCR for page 5
A Science Strategy for Space Physics: Membership WILLIAM A. SIRIGNANO,* University of California, Irvine JOHN W. TOWNSEND,* NASA (retired) FRED W. TUREK,* Northwestern University ARTHUR B.C. WALKER, JR.,** Stanford University MARC S. ALLEN, Director _______________________ *Term expired in 1994. **Term expired in 1995. BOARD ON ATMOSPHERIC SCIENCES AND CLIMATE JOHN A. DUTTON, Pennsylvania State University, Chair ERIC J. BARRON, Pennsylvania State University WILLIAM L. CHAMEIDES, Georgia Institute of Technology CRAIG E. DORMAN, Department of Defense FRANCO EINAUDI, Goddard Space Flight Center MARVIN A. GELLER, State University of New York, Stony Brook PETER V. HOBBS, University of Washington WITOLD F. KRAJEWSKI, University of Iowa MARGARET A. LeMONE, National Center for Atmospheric Research DOUGLAS K. LILLY, University of Oklahoma RICHARD S. LINDZEN, Massachusetts Institute of Technology GERALD R. NORTH, Texas A&M University EUGENE M. RASMUSSON, University of Maryland ROBERT J. SERAFIN, National Center for Atmospheric Research Staff WILLIAM A. SPRIGG, Director H. FRANK EDEN, Senior Program Officer MARK D. HANDEL, Senior Program Officer DAVID H. SLADE, Senior Program Officer ELLEN F. RICE, Reports Officer DORIS BOUADJEMI, Administrative Assistant THERESA M. FISHER, Administrative Assistant MARK BOEDO, Project Assistant COMMISSION ON PHYSICAL SCIENCES, MATHEMATICS, AND APPLICATIONS ROBERT J. HERMANN, United Technologies Corporation, Chair STEPHEN L. ADLER, Institute for Advanced Study file:///C|/SSB_old_web/stramem.html (3 of 5) [6/18/2004 2:17:48 PM]

OCR for page 5
A Science Strategy for Space Physics: Membership PETER M. BANKS, Environmental Research Institute of Michigan SYLVIA T. CEYER, Massachusetts Institute of Technology L. LOUIS HEGEDUS, W.R. Grace and Co. JOHN E. HOPCROFT, Cornell University RHONDA J. HUGHES, Bryn Mawr College SHIRLEY A. JACKSON, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission KENNETH I. KELLERMANN, National Radio Astronomy Observatory KEN KENNEDY, Rice University HANS MARK, University of Texas, Austin THOMAS A. PRINCE, California Institute of Technology JEROME SACKS, National Institute for Statistical Sciences L.E. SCRIVEN, University of Minnesota LEON T. SILVER, California Institute of Technology CHARLES P. SLICHTER, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign ALVIN W. TRIVELPIECE, Oak Ridge National Laboratory SHMUEL WINOGRAD, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center CHARLES A. ZRAKET, MITRE Corporation (retired) NORMAN METZGER, Executive Director COMMISSION ON GEOSCIENCES, ENVIRONMENT, AND RESOURCES M. GORDON WOLMAN, Johns Hopkins University, Chair PATRICK R. ATKINS, Aluminum Company of America EDITH BROWN WEISS, Georgetown University Law Center JAMES P. BRUCE, Canadian Climate Program Board WILLIAM L. FISHER, University of Texas, Austin EDWARD A. FRIEMAN, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, La Jolla GEORGE M. HORNBERGER, University of Virginia W. BARCLAY KAMB, California Institute of Technology PERRY L. McCARTY, Stanford University S. GEORGE PHILANDER, Princeton University RAYMOND A. PRICE, Queen's University of Kingston THOMAS C. SCHELLING, University of Maryland ELLEN SILBERGELD, University of Maryland Medical School STEVEN M. STANLEY, Johns Hopkins University VICTORIA J. TSCHINKEL, Landers and Parsons Staff STEPHEN RATTIEN, Executive Director STEPHEN D. PARKER, Associate Executive Director MORGAN GOPNIK, Assistant Executive Director JAMES MALLORY, Administrative Officer SANDRA FITZPATRICK, Administrative Associate file:///C|/SSB_old_web/stramem.html (4 of 5) [6/18/2004 2:17:48 PM]