Click for next page (

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 44
Space Studies Board Search: Jump to Top NewsJump to Science in the Subscribe to our FREE e- Headlines newsletter! NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES NATIONAL ACADEMY OF ENGINEERING INSTITUTE OF MEDICINE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL June 18, 2004 Current Operating Status 1990 Update to Strategy for Exploration of the Inner Planets Appendix B List of Members of the Former Commission on Physical Sciences, Mathematics, and Resources Norman Hackerman, Robert A. Welch Foundation, Chairman Robert C. Beardsley, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution B. Clark Burchfiel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology George F. Carrier, Harvard University Ralph J. Cicerone, University of California at Irvine Herbert D. Doan, The Dow Chemical Company (retired) Peter S. Eagleson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Dean E. Eastman, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center Marye Anne Fox, University of Texas at Austin Gerhart Friedlander, Brookhaven National Laboratory Lawrence W. Funkhouser, Chevron Corporation (retired) Phillip A. Griffiths, Duke University Neal F. Lane, Rice University Christopher F. McKee, University of California at Berkeley Richard S. Nicholson, American Association for the Advancement of Science Jack E. Oliver, Cornell University Jeremiah P. Ostriker, Princeton University Observatory Philip A. Palmer, E.I. du Pont de Nemours & Company Frank L. Parker, Vanderbilt University Denis J. Prager, MacArthur Foundation David M. Raup, University of Chicago Roy F. Schwitters, Superconducting Super Collider Laboratory Larry L. Smarr, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Karl K. Turekian, Yale University Last update 9/26/00 at 4:01 pm Site managed by Anne Simmons, Space Studies Board (1 of 2) [6/18/2004 10:07:31 AM]