Gerald D. Walberg is the president of Walberg Aerospace. He received his Ph.D. in aerospace engineering from North Carolina State University and his M.S. and B.S. in aerospace engineering from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. From 1957 to 1989, Dr. Walberg was employed at the NASA Langley Research Center, where he held positions ranging from research engineer to deputy director for space. Following his retirement from NASA, Dr. Walberg taught at the NASA/George Washington University Joint Institute for Advancement of Flight Sciences and then at North Carolina State University, where he was the director of the Mars Mission Research Center in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. In 1999 he retired from teaching and established Walberg Aerospace, a research company specializing in entry aerothermodynamics, trajectory optimization, and planetary mission analysis. Dr. Walberg was elected an AIAA fellow in 1988 and also gained Presidential Rank in the Meritorious Government Executive in 1988. He served on the NRC Committee on Space Facilities from 1993 to 1994.

Ian Walker is a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Clemson University. He received his Ph.D. in electrical engineering from the University of Texas at Austin. Professor Walker’s research centers on robotics, particularly novel manipulators and manipulation. His group is conducting basic research in the construction, modeling, and application of biologically inspired “trunk, tentacle, and worm” robots. Professor Walker is a fellow of the IEEE and a senior member of the AIAA. He currently serves as vice president for financial activities for the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society and is chair of the AIAA Technical Committee on Space Automation and Robotics. He has served on the editorial boards of IEEE Transactions on Robotics, IEEE Transactions on Robotics and Automation, International Journal of Robotics and Automation, IEEE Robotics and Automation Magazine, and International Journal of Environmentally Conscious Design and Manufacturing.

William W. Wang is currently a senior engineering specialist in the Propulsion Department of the Vehicle Systems Division of the Aerospace Corporation. He holds M.S. degrees (aeronautics and astronautics) from the University of Washington and a master of engineering from the Engineering Executive Program at UCLA. Mr. Wang has more than 25 years of experience in liquid propulsion systems and is an expert in liquid rocket engines for both U.S. and foreign space launch vehicles. He was a key member of several engine development programs. In addition, he has led many successful major engine test programs at both contractor and government test sites. His technical expertise is in propulsion system dynamics, combustion instability, and engine cycle performance.

Marilee J. Wheaton is the general manager of the Systems Engineering Division of the Aerospace Corporation. She held numerous positions at Aerospace between 1980 and 1999 and from 2002 to the present, with particular expertise in cost engineering using parametric modeling. Most recently, as general manager of the Computer Systems Division, she provided management and technical leadership for computer science and technology, computer systems engineering, and software acquisition. Ms. Wheaton started with Lockheed in 1979 as a manufacturing engineer and joined Aerospace the next year. In 1999, she moved to TRW Systems (now Northrop Grumman Mission Systems) as a director in the office of cost estimation. In 2002, she returned to Aerospace. Ms. Wheaton is the recipient of both the Parametrician of the Year Award and the Keith Burbridge Service Award from the International Society of Parametric Analysts and is the 2007 recipient of the University of Southern California (USC) Center for Systems and Software Engineering Lifetime Achievement Award. Ms. Wheaton has a B.A. in mathematics and Spanish from California Lutheran University and an M.S. in systems engineering from USC, and she is a graduate of the UCLA Executive Program in Management.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement