Cover Image


View/Hide Left Panel

returned to MIT, where he headed the Division of Fire Control and Army Radar in the Radiation Laboratory. His group developed the SCR 584 automatic-gunfire control radar that, by controlling proximity-fused antiaircraft artillery, has been credited with destroying 95 percent of the V-1 cruise missiles launched by Nazi Germany during World War II.

After a stint as professor of electrical engineering at MIT from 1945 to 1950, Getting left academia to join the Raytheon Company as vice president for research and engineering. In 1960, he resigned from Raytheon to head the newly created Aerospace Corporation.

Throughout his career, indeed throughout his life, Getting not only held positions that entailed heavy administrative responsibilities but also was an advisor to government on many issues, particularly related to national defense. In 1945, with General Hap Arnold and Theodore Von Karman, he was a founding member of the Air Force Scientific Advisory Board, and he later became the chief scientist of the Air Force. He was a member of the President’s Scientific Advisory Committee for many years and the National Academy of Sciences Undersea Warfare Committee for 25 years. He was also an advisor to NATO.

Getting participated in, indeed led, many technical advances in national defense, such as the development of air-to-air missiles and radar and electronic systems. He was also instrumental in the founding of Lincoln Laboratory at MIT. His longtime membership on the National Research Council Naval Studies Board and its various panels enabled him to play a leading role in the creation of the Polaris submarine-launched ballistic missile system (SLBM).

Many, many honors, citations, and awards were bestowed on Getting in recognition of his numerous accomplishments. His awards included the Presidential Medal of Merit, presented to him in 1948 by President Truman; the Naval Ordnance Development Award (1945); the Air Force Exceptional Service Award (1960); the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Pioneer Award (1975); the Los Angeles Chamber of Commerce Kitty Hawk Award (1975); the IEEE Founders’ Medal (1989); the

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement