John Albertine, an independent consultant, received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in physics from Rose Polytechnic Institute and Johns Hopkins University, respectively. Before working for the Navy, Mr. Albertine was a senior staff physicist in the Space Division of the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory. From 1976 through 1997, he worked in the Navy’s High Energy Laser (HEL) Program Office, directing the Navy’s technology development for the last 15 years of that assignment. During that time, he led the development and test of the first megawatt-class HEL system in the free world. He retired from the civil service in 1997 and now consults for the Office of the Secretary of Defense, the Air Force, the Office of Naval Research, the Navy HEL Program Office, and Penn State in the field of directed energy. Mr. Albertine was a member of the Air Force Science Advisory Board and served as executive vice president and was a member of the board of directors of the Directed Energy Professional Society (DEPS), where he is a fellow.

Ilan Ben-Zvi is a tenured senior scientist at Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL). Dr. Ben-Zvi serves as the associate chair for superconducting accelerator R&D and is the group leader for the electron cooling of the Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider in the Collider-Accelerator Department. He also holds an adjunct professorship in physics at Stony Brook. His current research interests are electron cooling of hadron beams, the generation of high-brightness electron beams, superconducting RF, energy recovery linacs, and high-power free-electron lasers through superconducting accelerator techniques. Dr. Ben-Zvi received his Ph.D. in physics from the Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel, in 1970. He joined the National Synchrotron Light Source at Brookhaven National Laboratory in 1989 and the Collider-Accelerator Department (joint appointment) in 2000. He served as the director of the Accelerator Test Facility, a user’s facility for beam physicists, from 1989 to 2004, building up the facility to serve as the premier DOE facility for advanced accelerator R&D. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society, a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. He is the recipient of the 1999 IEEE Accelerator Science and Technology Award, the 2001 BNL Science and Technology Award, the 2007 Free-Electron Laser Prize, and the 2008 IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society (IEEE/NPSS) Merit Award. Dr. Ben-Zvi has been active in international cooperative projects and has developed special relations with industry, including transfer of technology projects and collaborations on the development of novel accelerator components and software. He was a member of the editorial board of Physical Review Special Topics—Accelerators and Beams from its inauguration in 1998 until 2004. He is a member of the International Committee for Future Accelerators (ICFA) Panel on Advanced and Novel Accelerators. He has served on or chaired several advisory and program committees of beam physics conferences and workshops, including as a co-chair of the 1995 International FEL Conference, program chair of the 1999 Particle Accelerator Conference and the 2001 International FEL Conference, and chair of the 2004 Advanced Accelerator Concepts Workshop, on technical advisory panels, and reviews of accelerator and FEL projects. Since 2005, he has served as the chair of the IEEE/NPSS Particle Accelerator Science and Technology Committee.

Sandra G. Biedron serves as the director and physicist of the Department of Defense Project Office of Argonne National Laboratory and is an associate director of the Argonne Accelerator Institute. Dr. Biedron is also a consultant on the FERMI project at Elettra, at Sincrotone Trieste. She is a physicist whose main research is in beam and laser source development and use. She is cross-trained in chemistry, biology, and electrical engineering. She was one of the team members who proved the SASE FEL concept in the visible to VUV wavelengths. Dr. Biedron was also the Argonne representative and participant on the Brookhaven/Argonne high-gain harmonic generation FEL experiment. She has been involved with electron-gun design and testing for over 12 years and was the first in the world to predict and measure the nonlinear harmonic growth on two types of high-gain free-electron lasers, an important component of many new FEL projects worldwide. For more than 8 years, she has managed and led the international workgroup FEL Exotica, which examines exotic beam and photon schemes, including novel undulator designs. Dr. Biedron is an active member of several professional societies. For the SPIE, she served as chair of the Scholarships and Grants Committee for 2 years and was on the Awards and Education Committees. For 2007-2009, she is a member of the executive committee for the SPIE’s Optics and Photonics Optical Engineering and Applications Conference, representing the x-ray, gamma-ray, and particle technologies track. Dr. Biedron is a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). She served as the secretary and

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement