Click for next page ( 57

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 56
d Workshop attendees Roxie Allen, Association of Chemistry Teachers of Texas Myra Halpin, North Carolina School of Sciences and (ACT2), Houston Mathematics, Durham Patricia Baisden, National Nuclear Security Kiara Hargrove, Baltimore Polytechnic Institute, Administration/Department of Energy, Washington, DC Baltimore, Maryland L. Anthony Beck, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Alex Harris, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, Maryland New York Michael Berman, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, Sharon Haynie, E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, Arlington, Virginia Wilmington, Delaware Constance Blaise, University of Pennsylvania, Eric Jakobsson, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Ellen M. Johnson, Wilmington Friends School, Philadelphia Paul Bryan, Chevron, Richmond, California Wilmington, Delaware Mark Cardillo, Camille & Henry Dreyfus Foundation, Bonnie Kaiser, The Rockefeller University, New York Thomas E. Keller, National Academy of Sciences, New York William Carroll, Oxy Chem, Dallas, Texas Washington, DC Charles Casey, University of Wisconsin, Madison Brian J. Kennedy, Thomas Jefferson High School for John Chen, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania Science and Technology, Alexandria, Virginia Katherine Covert, National Science Foundation, Mary Kirchoff, American Chemical Society, Arlington, Virginia Washington, DC Edward Crowe, Carnegie Corporation, Washington, DC Michael Klein, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia Hai-Lung Dai, Temple University, Philadelphia, Jeff Krause, Department of Energy, Washington, DC Sandra Laursen, University of Colorado, Boulder Pennsylvania Reeny Davison, ASSET Inc., Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Marshall Lih, National Science Foundation, Arlington, Jeff Dilks, Department of Energy, Washington, DC Virginia Jay Dubner, Columbia University, New York Paul McKenzie, Centocor R&D, Radnor, Pennsylvania Diana Dummitt, University of Illinois at Jin Montclare, State University of New York, Brooklyn Sergey Nizkorodov, University of California, Irvine Urbana-Champaign Caryn Galatis, Thomas A. Edison High School, Susan V. Olesik, Ohio State University, Columbus Gilbert Pacey, Miami University, Oxford, Ohio Alexandria, Virginia Penny J. Gilmer, Florida State University, Tallahassee Michael Page, California State Polytechnic University, Marta Gmurczyk, American Chemical Society, Pomona Joan T. Prival, National Science Foundation, Arlington, Washington, DC Bryce Hach, Hach Scientific Foundation, Fort Collins, Virginia Marquita Qualls, Entropia, West Chester, Pennsylvania Colorado Michael Rogers, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland 

OCR for page 56
 APPENDIX D Sophie Rovner, Chemical and Engineering News, Robert Tai, University of Virginia, Charlottesville Irwin Talesnick, Queens University, Ontario, Canada Washington, DC Kim Schaaf, PPG Industries, Allison Park, Pennsylvania Terri Taylor, American Chemical Society, Washington, DC Hratch Semerjian, The Council for Chemical Research, Gerry Wheeler, National Science Teachers Association, Washington, DC Washington, DC Loraine Snead, Wilmington Friends School, Wilmington, Ken White, BNL Office of Educational Opportunity, Delaware Upton, New York Patricia Soochan, HHMI, Chevy Chase, Maryland Stacie Williams, University of Dayton, Dayton, Ohio Kaye Storm, Stanford University, Stanford, California Edee Wiziecki, University of Illinois at Kathryn Sullivan, Battelle Center for Mathematics & Urbana-Champaign Science Education Policy, Columbus, Ohio