Click for next page ( 172

The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine
500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001

Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement

Below are the first 10 and last 10 pages of uncorrected machine-read text (when available) of this chapter, followed by the top 30 algorithmically extracted key phrases from the chapter as a whole.
Intended to provide our own search engines and external engines with highly rich, chapter-representative searchable text on the opening pages of each chapter. Because it is UNCORRECTED material, please consider the following text as a useful but insufficient proxy for the authoritative book pages.

Do not use for reproduction, copying, pasting, or reading; exclusively for search engines.

OCR for page 171
B Workshop Participants Mehdi Bahadori Vice President for Research Academy of Sciences of Iran Mohammad Kazem Bojnordi President Center of the Great Islamic Encyclopedia Michael Clegg Foreign Secretary U.S. National Academy of Sciences and Donald Bren Professor of Biological Sciences University of California, Irvine William Colglazier Executive Officer U.S. National Academy of Sciences Reza Davari Ardakani President Academy of Sciences of Iran 171

OCR for page 171
Etienne Guyon Professor Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris and University of Paris Thomas Jordan Director Southern California Earthquake Center, University of Southern California Ousmane Kane Executive Director African Regional Center for Technology Mohammad Khatami Former President of Iran Bernard Maitte Professor Universite de Lille Hossein Masoumi Hamedani Sharif University of Technology and Academy of Persian Language and Literature and Center for the Great Islamic Encyclopedia Akio Matsumoto Professor of Economics Chuo University Mostafa Mohagheh Damad Head of Islamic Studies Academy of Sciences of Iran

OCR for page 171
WORKSHOP PARTICIPANTS 173 Norman P. Neureiter American Association for the Advancement of Science Glenn Schweitzer Program Director U.S. National Academy of Sciences Yousef Sobouti Director Institute for Advanced Studies in Basic Science, Zanjan and Academy of Sciences of Iran Ferenc Szidarovszky Professor of Systems and Industrial Engineering University of Arizona Hassan Tajbakhsh Professor Tehran University and Academy of Sciences of Iran Abulhassan Vafai Professor Sharif University of Technology William Wulf President Emeritus U.S. National Academy of Engineering and University of Virginia

OCR for page 171