the American Geophysical Union (AGU) and the Association for Women Geoscientists, and she was awarded the 2003 Emerald Honor for Women of Color in Research and Engineering by the Career Communications Group. Dr. Alexander has served on several NRC committees, including the Committee on Solar and Space Physics and the Committee on Distributed Small Arrays of Small Instruments for Research and Monitoring in Solar-Terrestrial Physics: A Workshop.

STEVEN V.W. BECKWITH is the vice president for research and graduate studies for the University of California System and professor of astronomy at the University of California, Berkeley. He is a former professor of physics and astronomy at Johns Hopkins University and the former director of the Space Telescope Science Institute. Previously, he was managing director of the Max-Planck-Institut für Astronomie. His principal research interests are the formation and early evolution of planets, including those outside the solar system, and the birth of galaxies in the early universe. Dr. Beckwith served as chair of the NRC Panel on Ultraviolet, Optical, and Infrared Astronomy from Space.

MARK A. BROSMER is general manager of the Launch and Satellite Control Division at the Aerospace Corporation, where he is responsible for Aerospace’s support to the Air Force Satellite Control Network and Spacelift Range. He is responsible for launch operations at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station and the Vandenberg Air Force Base. He joined the Aerospace Corporation in 1985 as a member of the technical staff in the Thermal Control Department of the Engineering and Technology Group. He transferred to the Fluid Mechanics Department in 1987. He has since held several positions, including manager of the Launch Vehicle Thermal Department, Engineering and Technology Group, and project engineer for the system integration and launch readiness of the Titan IV Solid Rocket Motor Upgrade. He joined the Evolved Expendable Launch Vehicle (EELV) Program in 1996 as a senior project engineer, serving as Aerospace’s integrated product team lead for systems engineering and integration for the Delta IV launch system. In 1998 he was promoted to systems director for Delta IV development, and in 2001 he was promoted to principal director of Delta IV. While supporting the EELV Program, he provided technical leadership from the early-development phase and source-selection process through the eight inaugural launches of the Delta IV, including the first operational launches of the medium-, intermediate-, and heavy-lift configurations.

JOSEPH BURNS is the Irving Porter Church Professor of Engineering, professor of astronomy, and vice provost for physical sciences and engineering at Cornell University. He is heavily involved with the imaging team on the Cassini mission around Saturn. Dr. Burns’s current research concerns planetary rings and the small bodies of the solar system (dust, satellites, comets, and asteroids). He is the president of the International Astronomical Union’s (IAU’s) Commission on Celestial Mechanics and Dynamical Astronomy. Dr. Burns is a fellow of the AGU and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a member of the International Academy of Astronautics, and a foreign member of the Russian Academy of Sciences. In 1994 he was awarded the Masursky Prize by the Division of Planetary Sciences of the American Astronautical Society (AAS). Dr. Burns previously served as a member of the NRC Committee on a New Science Strategy for Solar System Exploration.

CYNTHIA CATTELL is a professor of physics in the School of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Minnesota. She is a fellow of the AGU. She is an author on more than 130 refereed journal articles and a contributing author in Auroral Plasma Physics (in the Space Sciences Series of the International Space Science Institute). She is a co-investigator on Polar, Cluster, FAST (Fast Auroral Snapshot), STEREO (Solar-Terrestrial Relations Observatory), and RBSP (Radiation Belt Storm Probes) and a principal investigator on the AMPS (Auroral Multi-Probe Satellite) mission study. Dr. Cattell has been a member of various advisory committees, including the NRC Committee on Solar Terrestrial Research, the NRC Plasma Sciences Committee, the NASA Sun-Earth-Connection Advisory Subcommittee, and the Sun-Solar System Connections SSSC Roadmap Committee. She was chair of the 2003 NASA Plasma Sails Working Group and a member of the Advisory Committee to the Basic Plasma Science Facility at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). She has also served on the science definition teams for a number of missions, including the Mercury Dual Orbiter and the Grand Tour Cluster. She is a member of

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement