Austin. His research interests include electro-organic chemistry, photo-electro-chemistry, electrogenerated chemiluminescence, electroanalytical chemistry, and fuel cells. His interests include energy policy related to fossil fuels and renewable energy sources. He has published widely and is the winner of numerous honors and awards, including the Willard Gibbs Award, the Pauling Award, and the Priestley Metal. He was president of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemists and served as editor-in-chief of the Journal of the American Chemical Society from 1982 to 2001. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences. He has served on the National Research Council’s (NRC’s) Energy Engineering Board (EEB), and has also served as chair of the Board on Chemical Sciences and Technology and chair of the EEB Committee on Potential Applications of Concentrated Solar Photons. He received a Ph.D. degree in chemistry from Harvard University.

Rakesh Agrawal (NAE) is a Winthrop E. Stone Distinguished Professor in the School of Chemical Engineering at Purdue University. Previously, he was an Air Products Fellow at Air Products and Chemicals, Inc., where he worked from 1980 to 2004. A major thrust of his research is related to energy issues and includes novel processes for fabrication of low-cost solar cells, biomass and coal to liquid fuel conversion, hydrogen production from renewable resources, and energy systems analysis. His research interests include basic and applied research in gas separations, process development, synthesis of distillation column configurations, adsorption and membrane separation processes, novel separation processes, gas liquefaction processes, cryogenics, and thermodynamics. He holds more than 116 U.S. and 500 foreign patents. These patents are used in more than 100 chemical plants with a capital expenditure in excess of a billion dollars. He has authored 66 technical papers and given many lectures and presentations. He chaired the Separations Division and the Chemical Technology Operating Council of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) and also a Gordon Conference on Separations. He was a member of the NRC Committee on Alternatives and Strategies for Future Hydrogen Production and Use. He is currently a member of the AIChE’s board of directors and also its Energy Commission. He is also a member of the NRC Board on Energy and Environmental Systems (BEES). He has received several awards, including the J & E Hall Gold Medal from the Institute of Refrigeration (U.K.); Presidential Citation for Outstanding Achievement from the University of Delaware; and from the AIChE the Gerhold, Excellence in Industrial Gases Technology, Institute Lecture, Chemical Engineering Practice, and Fuels and

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement