Petrochemicals Division awards. Dr. Agrawal received a B.Tech. from the Indian Institute of Technologies in Kanpur, India; a M.Ch.E. from the University of Delaware; and an Sc.D. in chemical engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

William Chameides (NAS) is the dean of the Nicholas School of the Environment and Earth Sciences at Duke University. He is the former chief scientist for Environmental Defense, and before that the Smithgall Chair and Regents Professor of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences at the Georgia Institute of Technology. His research interests include atmospheric chemistry, tropospheric gas-phase and aqueous-phase chemistry; air pollution; global chemical cycles; biospheric-atmospheric interaction; and global and regional environmental change. His NRC service includes chair of the Committee on Atmospheric Chemistry and the Committee on Ozone-Forming Potential of Reformulated Gasoline, and a member of the Committee on Tropospheric Ozone Formation and Measurement. Dr. Chameides is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and a former member of the NRC Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology. He received a B.A. degree from the State University of New York at Binghamton and M.Ph. and Ph.D. degrees in geology and geophysics from Yale University.

Jane H. Davidson is professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Minnesota and director of the Solar Energy Laboratory. Her current areas of research include solar systems for residential buildings, efficiency in building envelopes, and solar thermochemical cycles to produce fuels. She is a past editor of the Journal of Solar Energy Engineering and chair of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Solar Energy Division. She has served as an elected member of the boards of the American Solar Energy Society (ASES) and the Solar Rating and Certification Corporation. Her efforts in research and engineering education have been recognized with the 2007 American Solar Energy Society Charles Greeley Abbot Award, the 2005 University of Minnesota Distinguished Women Scholar Award in Science and Engineering, the 2004 ASME John I. Yellott Award, and the 2000 John Tate Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising. She is a fellow of ASME and ASES. She has B.S. and M.S. degrees in engineering science and mechanics from the University of Tennessee and a Ph.D. degree in mechanical engineering from Duke University.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement