on the board of directors of several energy, engineering, and environmental organizations, including the Alliance to Save Energy and the American Council for an Energy Efficient Economy, and she serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Technology Transfer. Dr. Brown is a member of the National Commission on Energy Policy. She has a Ph.D. in geography from Ohio State University and a master’s degree in resource planning from the University of Massachusetts.

Linda R. Cohen is a professor of economics and associate dean for research and graduate studies for the School of Social Sciences at the University of California, Irvine. She is a fellow and former council member of the California Council for Science and Technology, and was a member of the Advisory Panel for the Public Interest Energy Research Program for the California Energy Commission. She recently served on National Research Council (NRC) committees on the benefits of DOE programs in energy efficiency and fossil energy and on the American Physical Society Panel on Public Affairs’ Committee on Energy and Environment. In 2004 Dr. Cohen held the Gilbert White Fellowship at Resources for the Future of Washington, D.C. Her energy-related publications include The Technology Pork Barrel, “When Can Government Subsidize Research Joint Ventures? Politics, Economics and Limits to Technology Policy,” “Is U.S. Science Policy at Risk? Trends in Federal Support for R&D,” and Prospective Evaluation of Applied Energy Research and Development at DOE (Phase One): A First Look Forward, with coauthors. She received a Ph.D. in social sciences from the California Institute of Technology.

Magnus G. Craford is the chief technology officer of Philips LumiLeds Lighting. Dr. Craford began his professional career as a research physicist at Monsanto Chemical Company. His initial research dealt with the development of optoelectronics materials and devices using a variety of compound semiconductor materials. In 1979, he joined Hewlett Packard Company as a manager in the Optoelectronics Division, responsible for the development of technology and processes for manufacturing visible light emitting diodes. In 1999, Dr. Craford assumed his current position as chief technical officer of LumiLeds Lighting, then a joint venture of Agilent Technologies and Philips Lighting, now owned by Philips. He is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering (IEEE). He has received the MRS Medal, the IEEE Morris N. Liebmann Award, the Holonyak Award of the Optical of America, the Welker Award of the International Symposium on Compound Semiconductors, the Electronics Division Award of the

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement