engineering from the University of Florida and a Ph.D. in engineering mechanics from the University of Texas at Austin.

Arthur H. Rosenfeld is a professor of physics at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL). He is also a member of the California Energy Commission. After completing his graduate studies, Dr. Rosenfeld went to the University of California at Berkeley, where he joined, and eventually led, the Nobel Prize–winning particle physics group of Luis Alvarez at LBNL until 1974. At that time, he changed to the new field of efficient use of energy, formed the Center for Building Science at LBNL, and led it until 1994. The center developed electronic ballasts for fluorescent lamps (which led to compact fluorescent lamps), low-emissivity windows, and the DOE-2 computer program for the energy analysis and design of buildings. He received the Szilard Award for Physics in the Public Interest in 1986 and the Carnot Award for Energy Efficiency from the DOE in 1993. In 2006, Dr. Rosenfeld received the Enrico Fermi Award, the oldest and one of the most prestigious science and technology awards given by the U.S. government. Dr. Rosenfeld is a cofounder of the ACEEE, the University of California’s Institute for Energy Efficiency, and the Washington-based Center for Energy and Climate Solutions. From 1994 to 1999 Dr. Rosenfeld served as senior advisor to the DOE’s Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy. He received a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Chicago.

Daniel Sperling is a professor of civil engineering and environmental science and policy and director of the Institute of Transportation Studies at the University of California, Davis. Dr. Sperling has done extensive studies on alternative transportation fuels, fuel cell vehicles, and sustainable transportation, and has authored 200-plus technical papers and eight books. He has been a member of several NRC committees related to transportation, including the Committee to Review the R&D Strategy for Biomass-Derived Ethanol and Biodiesel Transportation Fuels, the Committee on Alternative and Strategies for Future Hydrogen Production and Use, and the Committee for the Study of the Long-Term Viability of Fuel Taxes for Transportation Finance. He is the chair of the Transportation Research Board’s (TRB’s) Sustainability and Transportation Committee and a former chair of the TRB’s Alternative Transportation Fuels Committee. Dr. Sperling was elected a National Associate of the National Academies in 2004. He received a B.S. in civil engineering from Cornell University and a Ph.D. in transportation engineering from the University of California at Berkeley.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement