member of the Department of Energy’s Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee and of various committees reviewing upgrade and instrumentation strategies for national and international neutron-scattering infrastructure. Dr. Broholm is directly involved with instrumentation design at the NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Center for Neutron Research and the Spallation Neutron Source. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society.

Robert J. Cava is a professor of chemistry at Princeton University. He received his Ph.D. in ceramics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His research expertise is in the area of solid-state chemistry, specifically focusing on the synthesis and characterization of transition metal oxide and intermetallic materials. He has directed the Princeton Materials Institute and was a distinguished member of the technical staff at Bell Laboratories. He has received the Wulff Award in Materials Science, the American Chemical Society Prize in the Chemistry of Materials, and the Matthias Prize. Dr. Cava is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and a fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Ceramic Society.

James R. Chelikowsky is the W.A. “Tex” Moncrief, Jr., Chair of Computational Materials and professor in the Departments of Physics, Chemical Engineering, and Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Texas at Austin. He obtained a B.S. degree in physics from Kansas State University and a Ph.D. degree in physics from the University of California at Berkeley. His research interests are in the optical and dielectric properties of semiconductors, surface and interfacial phenomena in solids, point and extended defects in electronic materials, pressure-induced amorphization in silicates and disordered systems, clusters and nanoregime systems, diffusion and microstructure of liquids, and the development of high-performance algorithms to predict the properties of materials. Dr. Chelikowsky is the recipient of the 2001 David Turnbull Award from the Materials Research Society and the 2006 David Adler Award from the American Physical Society. He is also a fellow of the American Physical Society.

Zachary Fisk is Distinguished Professor of Physics at the University of California at Irvine. He received his Ph.D. in physics from the University of California at San Diego. He has held positions at the University of Chicago, the University of California at San Diego, the Los Alamos National Laboratory, Florida State University, and the Univeristy of California at Davis. Dr. Fisk’s research examines the electronic properties of magnetic and superconducting materials. In this work, he has excelled at creating high-quality crystals of these superconducting materials. He has received many awards and honors in recognition of his work in condensed-matter physics, including the American Physical Society’s International Prize for New Materials in 1990 and the E.O. Lawrence Award in 1992. He was elected a fellow of the American

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement