Hardin’s professional memberships include the American Society for Microbiology, the International Association for Food Protection, the Institute for Food Science, the Society for Applied Microbiology, and the American Meat Science Association. She is a member of the Editorial Board of the International Journal of Food Microbiology and of the Editorial Advisory Board of Food Safety Magazine. Dr. Hardin has served as a member of the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Food and the National Advisory Committee for Meat and Poultry Inspection. She received her PhD in food microbiology from Texas A&M University.

Craig Hedberg is a professor of environmental and occupational health at the University of Minnesota School of Public Health. His research focuses on foodborne-disease surveillance, surveillance of environmental factors associated with foodborne disease, the role of food workers in the occurrence of foodborne disease, the use of epidemiologic methods in outbreak investigations and disease control, and environmental contamination by enteric pathogens. He previously served as supervisor of the Foodborne, Vectorborne, and Zoonotic Disease Unit at the Minnesota Department of Health. Dr. Hedberg served on the National Research Council Subcommittee II on Produce and Related Products, Seafood, and Dairy Products. He received his PhD in epidemiology from the University of Minnesota.

Lee-Ann Jaykus is a professor in the Departments of Food Science and Microbiology at North Carolina State University. Her research efforts focus on the development of molecular methods to detect human enteric viruses in foods and investigation of foodborne viral disease outbreaks with a molecular epidemiologic approach. Additional research efforts include evaluation of nucleic acid amplification techniques for the detection of bacterial pathogens (Salmonella, Listeria monocytogenes, and E. coli O157:H7) in a variety of food products and the application of quantitative microbial risk assessment in the evaluation of foodborne microbiologic hazards. Dr. Jaykus has collaborated in large, multi-institutional projects to investigate the prevalence of pathogens and their association with production and processing practices in fresh produce, poultry, and shellfish. Her professional memberships include the International Association for Food Protection, the Carolinas Association for Food Protection, and the American Society for Microbiology. She earned a PhD in environmental science and engineering from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Jeffrey LeJeune is an associate professor in the Department of Veterinary Preventive Medicine in the food-animal health research program at Ohio State University. His research involves preharvest control of human foodborne pathogens, control of antimicrobial-resistant bacteria in the animal host and the environment, and the effects of diet composition on the magnitude and prevalence of E. coli O157 in cattle. Dr. LeJeune has also investigated practical, on-farm methods to reduce bacterial contamination of livestock drinking water. He has served as an expert consultant to the joint Food and Agriculture Organization and World Health Organization on control of microbiologic contamination of leafy greens and to the International Water Management Institute on water reuse in agriculture and public health. Dr. LeJeune received his DVM from the University of Prince Edward Island and his PhD in veterinary microbiology from Washington State University, and he did postdoctoral work in epidemiology.

Jianghong Meng is a professor in the Department of Nutrition and Food Science of the University of Maryland and interim director of the Joint Institute for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition with the Food and Drug Administration. Dr. Meng is interested in molecular identification, antimicrobial resistance, and pathogenicity of major foodborne pathogens, including Shiga toxin-producing E. coli, Campylobacter, Salmonella, and Listeria monocytogenes. Dr. Meng is an appointed member of the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods of the U.S. Department of Agriculture and is on the Editorial Board of Applied and Environmental Microbiology. He received his DVM from Sichuan Agricultural University, China, and his PhD in comparative pathology from the University of California, Davis.

The National Academies | 500 Fifth St. N.W. | Washington, D.C. 20001
Copyright © National Academy of Sciences. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use and Privacy Statement